Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I make this after we get a rotisserie chicken. We eat all the white meat separately and then I pull all the dark meat off the chicken, remove the skin, chop it up and freeze it for later. I use Adelle's Andoullie. Brown rice doesn't get cooked. Maybe in the future, I'll cook the brown rice separate and add it, but I like white basmati rice and push the broth up to 3 full cups. Cajun cuisine is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jez the Mez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Great recipe as written. The second time I doubled the tomatoes just as a personal preference. For those "purists" who say no tomatoes in jambalaya, that is a basic difference between Cajun and Creole style cooking; Creole uses tomatoes, Cajun not so. And finally, for those who complain about crunchy rice, switch to parboiled whenever you are cooking rice in a dish rather than separately. It makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiyadave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Fabulous! Didn't have file on hand, so after removing the meats and before adding the vegetables, I took a few minutes to add flour to the oil in the pot and cook up a quick roux, then proceeded with the recipe as written, except for adding a handful of raw shrimp with the rice. I did have to add extra liquid and cook it longer so the rice would cook all the way through. In the end, it was delicious and the right consistency. Cleared out my sinuses too, so the spice level was right on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This recipe is delicious! I used venison sausage and quinoa(was out of rice) and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elke Schweikert
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Didn't have andouille so used shrimp - didn't have celery on hand so left that out. Used 2 cans diced tomato instead of crushed. Didn't have gumbo seasoning but used tony chachere seasoning instead which made it spicy. Overall- took longer to reduce. Spicy but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elke Schweikert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Followed the recipe exact. Came out great! Only thing was I felt it was too salty for my liking so will definitely ease up on the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
from new orleans and it is very good and pretty easy. I make for the kids but leave out the red pepper flakes as they dont like it and i adjusted seasoning a bit. I also increased sausage and chicken, used canola oil. Take out green pepper, add lots onion. season chicken with tony chachere while cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Simple Simon.....great stuff! Nothing too exotic; reminiscent of mom's old Spanish rice recipe...but with the "exotic" meat instead of just hamburger. Oh, speaking of which, feel free to sub shrimp for the chicken. Just as good, if not better! (Remember to go easy on the garlic if you have a doctor's appointment in the morning....which I DO!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRESIDENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Mixing italian tomatoes, worchestershire sauce, and hot pepper cauce in a jambalaya recipe was a disaster. The salt proportion was way too much, and cooking rice in an already finished dish is just nuts. Salvaged it with some extra saltless cajun seasoning to some degree but do yourself a favor and avoid this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
First time making Jambalaya and it was great. After reading many reviews I was careful with the spices since too hot isn't what we like. I used fresh locally made Andouille sausage which added plenty of it's own spices, pre-cooked chicken and 1/2 to 3/4 lb. large peeled shrimp, double the amount of tomatoes, red pepper (green are so boring), a couple bay leaves, and a TBL or 2 of tomato paste. No celery, used some celery seed, and Cajun seasoning. Be careful with the salt! I cooked the rice separately, based on reviews, in chicken broth. I simmered it very slowly, then refrigerated for about 4 hrs so the flavors would come together. Reheated and served with the white rice. Delicious and will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe, and all the previous reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States