Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I made this for my daughter's 2nd birthday today and everyone loved it. Just enough spice to keep the southerners happy and not completely burn out the rest. Great creole flavor and didn't take as long as expected. It was a bit jucier than what I'm used to, but I found some ways to getting around that. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Very good. I backed off on the hot sauce a bit, since I am more of a "medium" heat kind of a girl. Used canned turkey instead of raw chicken, since that is what I had. Threw in some small shrimp with there were just a couple of minutes left. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
excellent flavour, easy to make. will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is close to the reciepe ive used for years. Its a very hearty reciepe. I didn't go easy on the spices and it was a rich vibrant dish. I added another can of tomatoes and reduced it for 2 hours. No File spice on hand but it reduced well. I used spicy Italian sausage. Rather than rice I like serving on a fucili pasta. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is a good, classic Jambalaya recipe. Just the right amount of heat for me. You can always add more spice, if you like. I made a few adjustments, though. We prefer ours more meaty, so I only used 2c stock and 1c rice. Exchanged half of the chicken for shrimp, added a couple of slices of bacon, a spoonful of chicken demi glace and omitted the file. A very satisfying meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I have been a Cajun cook for years... this is the most accurate depiction of how to do this Jambalaya I have seen. Simple and to the point, the flavors speak for themselves. I also fried up some smoked bacon once... and that was an added bonus. Not very traditional, but effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Great dish! No variations really, just omitted the red pepper flakes and used a bit more creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latoya Goree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Excellent, this is one recipe I truly CRAVE when it's been too long. This is SPICY, go easy on the hot peppers--you can always add more later if it's not spicy enough for you! I also added thyme and oregano. Oh and I know adding sour cream isn't proper cajun, but adding some at the table will tone down the spiciness if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was great! I used chicken sausage instead of chicken and andouille sausage, and also added shrimp. Omitted salt, and instead of file powder I used about 1 c. of cut okra to thicken the stew. I also used brown rice. This was a flavorful recipe, and ,ade a very good jumbalaya. It's easy to play around from here (like with your own spices, okra vs. no okra, etc), and I liked being able to customize my proteins and rice -- if you use brown rice, go for short grain, and make sure to account for the longer cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Absolutely awesome! I added shrimp with the same spices. Then added in a tsp of thyme, tsp of cayenne pepper and a half tbs of dried chives. Also reduced the broth by half a cup. We like it hot! So if you're cooking for kids resuce the heat on it. Love love loved it! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States