Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Followed the recipe exact. Came out great! Only thing was I felt it was too salty for my liking so will definitely ease up on the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
from new orleans and it is very good and pretty easy. I make for the kids but leave out the red pepper flakes as they dont like it and i adjusted seasoning a bit. I also increased sausage and chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Simple Simon.....great stuff! Nothing too exotic; reminiscent of mom's old Spanish rice recipe...but with the "exotic" meat instead of just hamburger. Oh, speaking of which, feel free to sub shrimp for the chicken. Just as good, if not better! (Remember to go easy on the garlic if you have a doctor's appointment in the morning....which I DO!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRESIDENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Wow, this recipe is all messed up. Mixing italian tomatoes, worchestershire sauce, and hot pepper cauce in a jambalaya recipe is a disaster. The salt proportion was way too much, and cooking rice in an already finished dish is just nuts. Salvaged it with some extra saltless cajun seasoning to some degree but do yourself a favor and avoid this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
First time making Jambalaya and it was great. After reading many reviews I was careful with the spices since too hot isn't what we like. I used fresh locally made Andouille sausage which added plenty of it's own spices, pre-cooked chicken and 1/2 to 3/4 lb. large peeled shrimp, double the amount of tomatoes, red pepper (green are so boring), a couple bay leaves, and a TBL or 2 of tomato paste. No celery, used some celery seed, and Cajun seasoning. Be careful with the salt! I cooked the rice separately, based on reviews, in chicken broth. I simmered it very slowly, then refrigerated for about 4 hrs so the flavors would come together. Reheated and served with the white rice. Delicious and will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe, and all the previous reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Very easy, delicious recipe. Some thought it was too spicy, maybe I'll leave out the pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daveyface

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Loved this recipe - though I didn't make it as traditional jambalaya. I used hot italian sausage, and also threw in a couple of spare mushrooms that I had on hand. I also added a bit of the celery leaves, and some fresh parsley. I skipped the file powder as I did not have it on hand. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was delish and all 3 of my kids ate it! I did change up a few things. I used regular hot sausage and leftover rice that was already cooked. I condensed the chicken broth because it didn't need to absorb into the rice. I didn't have an onion on hand (rare), but used onion flakes. This was so yummy, and was great with cornbread! FAT TUESDAY YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Left out the spicy parts (tabasco, red pepper flakes, black pepper, and swapped creole for cajun seasoning), also used one of the review suggestions and added shrimp at the end and increased the tomatoes to 28oz. Lastly, I used brown rice because we were out of white rice and I enjoyed the enhanced texture with the brown rice although it added to the overall cooking time by another 25 minutes. Deeeelicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Savage
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Very good. It's quite spicy but not enough to make it inedible, just a slow burn...lol I added some small shrimp to it which made it even meatier. I cooked frozen small raw peeled deveined & tail-off shrimp with a little Cajun seasoning, just like the sausage & chicken & set it aside with the other meat. I only used 6oz but I could have used 12oz easily. The celery really needs a few extra min of cooking time by itself first, if possible. Even after finishing cooking for the entire time, the celery was still not quite tender. I would give the celery 5-10 min by itself before adding the onions & peppers, then add the garlic after that since garlic burns fast. Couldn't find 16oz cans of crushed tomatoes so I used 14.5oz diced Italian tomatoes & it was fine. I used just a tad over 1 1/4 cup of rice to empty my package so I added another 1/2 cup of broth & even with the smaller amount of tomatoes there was still plenty of liquid for the rice. If you follow the directions & bring it to a boil & then simmer for 25 min, it's perfect. Also had to leave out the file powder since I couldn't find it. It thickened fine on it's own. And just my preference, I reduced the red chili flakes & hot sauce to 1/4 tsp each. There was still plenty of spice! Oh, I just used regular vegetable oil for the meat & veggies instead of peanut oil...no problems
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Savage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States