Jambalaya With Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I use one large onion and add some Cajun seasoning. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
As mentioned by other reviewers, this is a great basic recipe that allows for versatility and seasoning according to each cook's tastes. Using a 12 inch electric skillet with glass cover really helps control the heat and moisture. I chopped 4 snacking peppers (those small, red yellow and orange peppers they sell in produce) and sauteed with the onions. I had leftover rice (from a previous meal) so didn't use the broth nor did I need flour for thickening. A can of petite, diced tomatoes provided enough liquid. I used andouille sausage instead of ham. I seasoned with 5 shakes of chipotle pepper sauce, 1/2 tsp. chili pepper flakes and 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder. Because my rice was already cooked I only needed to simmer the mixture for about 5-7 minutes to heat everything. The color of the combined ingredients made for a festive presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Guzauskas Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
It was plans and a little sticky. We used deli ham and less onion and shrimp. Then we seasoned with Cajun and red pepper. It was an ok dish, but it needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Delicious. Tripled garlic, usually add more garlic than suggested in these recipes, added 2 green peppers, andoulline sausage and chorizo, and creole season for added flavor and spice, and some salt/pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allen Tillis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
We totally enjoyed this but I modified this recipe likes others. I did not have any ham so just used shrimp. Only used 1 onion, I thought 3 would take over the recipe. I used a can of chicken broth, room temperature - it worked fine. Added fresh chopped tomatoes, fresh peppers, and best of all fresh yellow squash. Added fresh parsley, oregano and of course some Old Bay. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
3 words + more others but simply put "This recipe rocks!!!!!!!" There is so much room to make it your own. I just love it and my bf loved it too. I followed this recipe combined with several others. I used the shrimp shells to add to the chicken broth plus a cup of white wine and reduced it to 3 cups liquid and strained it prior to putting the liquid into the pot. I added chicken and spicy sausage as well as red pepper and celery. I also used some oldbay and seafood seasoning and through in this pre-mixed Cajun seasoning I had lying about. I added red pepper for a little more of a kick and used rices I had cooked from the day before in my fridge the result BAM! An amazing snowmageddon meal! This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Great dish I did mdified it with a jamaican pepper and seafood broth to give it more flavor but loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
We love this recipe in our firehouse. When we don't have an idea for dinner, we say lets do the jambalaya. Its always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Loved this recipe - thank you for posting! The flavor is surprisingly rich and creamy given the simple ingredients. I substituted bell pepper and celery for some of the onion and used bacon instead of ham because it's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States