Jambalaya With Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This is an awesome recipe for shrimp jambalaya..my advice is to use a little more chicken broth than the recipe calls for. Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
Just moved to Louisiana from the Midwest.. decided that we needed to try some Southern dishes. This is the first jambalaya recipe that I tried and it was excellent! Would probably add some hot sauce next time for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I thought this was great and I enjoyed making it. However, I don't think I could get away with making it again because my husband said he'd rather have Crawfish Etoufee (sp?) if I was going to make something like this. He and my bro-in-law still liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brinker1975
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Excellent basic jimbalaya recipe. Easy to add additional ingredients if you wish. In addition to the shrimp and ham, I added pre-cooked skinless chicken thighs, scallops, and sweet italian sausage. For a bit more Cajun "kick", I also added Red Pepper Flakes, Garlic herb spice, and 1 tbsp of Emeril's "Bam!" spice. Wonderful! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
I make this recipe all the time when guests are over or just for my husband and I. It's delicious! The only thing I add is McCormick's Creole Seasoning for extra flavor spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
It's been a long time since I've had a recipe like this. If you like originals, this is one of them! A great big "thanks" to Jill for submitting it! I give it 5 stars - PLUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
One of our favorite recipes. Super easy to make and a great comfort food in the cold weather. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Fantastic! This was my first time making jambalaya and I loved it. As per some of the reviews, it needed extra liquid for the rice, but since I didn't have extra broth, I just added water as needed (about one and a half cups). I spiced it up with half a habanero, a little cayenne and some red pepper flakes. So easy to make and I only had to dirty one pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Tried it and absolutely loved it. The family has requested it again! Jill - you said there was a lot of room to mess with the recipe. It is great just like it is! Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Definatly use the smoked sausage in this recipe instead of the ham, it gives it nice smokey flavor, delish!!! Really nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States