Jambalaya With Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Excellent basic jimbalaya recipe. Easy to add additional ingredients if you wish. In addition to the shrimp and ham, I added pre-cooked skinless chicken thighs, scallops, and sweet italian sausage. For a bit more Cajun "kick", I also added Red Pepper Flakes, Garlic herb spice, and 1 tbsp of Emeril's "Bam!" spice. Wonderful! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Fantastic! This was my first time making jambalaya and I loved it. As per some of the reviews, it needed extra liquid for the rice, but since I didn't have extra broth, I just added water as needed (about one and a half cups). I spiced it up with half a habanero, a little cayenne and some red pepper flakes. So easy to make and I only had to dirty one pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I am from South Louisiana and I think that this dish needed some more flavor. Turned out bland and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Tried it and absolutely loved it. The family has requested it again! Jill - you said there was a lot of room to mess with the recipe. It is great just like it is! Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
My husband really enjoyed this, and surprisingly my kids did too. I am not a fan of Cajun food, but I ate it and it wasn't too spicy. I didn't have the ham on-hand, so I used 1 lb. beef smoked sausage, and I also added gumbo vegetables and some Cajun seasoning. Also I used brown rice and it was just as good. We will make this one again; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I modified this recipe by using only 1 cup of rice, added 1/2 c celery and 1/2 red pepper to onions & butter. Then I added cajun seasoning, Lowery's seasoned salt, fresh oregano, fresh basil and a big splash of jalapeno sauce. My family thought it was a great recipe. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
This is a easy and quick to assemble. I added Old Bay seasoning. Also used can tomatoes and frozen shrimp. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Delicious. I used 25-to-a-pound shrimp. I couldn't spend all that time peeling them without making use of the shells! So I put the shrimp shells in the chicken stock and added one more cup of chicken stock and one cup of white wine, then reduced it back down to the amount called-for in the recipe (then removed the shells, of course!) I also cooked the roux to a golden brown before proceeding with the rest of the recipe. The recipe does not call for "trinity" (onions, celery and green pepper) and no cajun seasoning - which I found interesting. So I served this recipe with a bottle of papaya hot sauce for people to pass around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was really good! It will become a regular dish in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Mock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, Texas, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was a "good recipe"..I cooked my rice first,then added it in step 2 along with the shrimp.I did't use ham, I used Kielbasa sliced. and added hot pepper flakes,I calculated for 8 servings. It was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States