Jambalaya With Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
I make this recipe all the time when guests are over or just for my husband and I. It's delicious! The only thing I add is McCormick's Creole Seasoning for extra flavor spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
This is a easy and quick to assemble. I added Old Bay seasoning. Also used can tomatoes and frozen shrimp. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
Just moved to Louisiana from the Midwest.. decided that we needed to try some Southern dishes. This is the first jambalaya recipe that I tried and it was excellent! Would probably add some hot sauce next time for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I am from South Louisiana and I think that this dish needed some more flavor. Turned out bland and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This is an awesome recipe for shrimp jambalaya..my advice is to use a little more chicken broth than the recipe calls for. Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Excellent basic jimbalaya recipe. Easy to add additional ingredients if you wish. In addition to the shrimp and ham, I added pre-cooked skinless chicken thighs, scallops, and sweet italian sausage. For a bit more Cajun "kick", I also added Red Pepper Flakes, Garlic herb spice, and 1 tbsp of Emeril's "Bam!" spice. Wonderful! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is OK if you want a quick version of jambalaya. I would recommend adding some spicy sausage to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Definitely add about a half cup more broth and spice the way you like but it's a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This recipe was pretty good. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1/2 cup extra chicken broth and also added some diced chicken and a can of sliced mushrooms. I thought that it was a little bland and am hoping to put some more flavor in it next time I make it. The overall rating was definitely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I modified this recipe by using only 1 cup of rice, added 1/2 c celery and 1/2 red pepper to onions & butter. Then I added cajun seasoning, Lowery's seasoned salt, fresh oregano, fresh basil and a big splash of jalapeno sauce. My family thought it was a great recipe. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States