Jambalaya With Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Fantastic! This was my first time making jambalaya and I loved it. As per some of the reviews, it needed extra liquid for the rice, but since I didn't have extra broth, I just added water as needed (about one and a half cups). I spiced it up with half a habanero, a little cayenne and some red pepper flakes. So easy to make and I only had to dirty one pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
One of our favorite recipes. Super easy to make and a great comfort food in the cold weather. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
My husband really enjoyed this, and surprisingly my kids did too. I am not a fan of Cajun food, but I ate it and it wasn't too spicy. I didn't have the ham on-hand, so I used 1 lb. beef smoked sausage, and I also added gumbo vegetables and some Cajun seasoning. Also I used brown rice and it was just as good. We will make this one again; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
A good recipe for jambalaya. I added some spicy dry red pepper, tabasco and cayenne pepper to give it an extra zing. I also didn't have any butter on hand but substituted with olive oil and buttersalt. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I modified this recipe by using only 1 cup of rice, added 1/2 c celery and 1/2 red pepper to onions & butter. Then I added cajun seasoning, Lowery's seasoned salt, fresh oregano, fresh basil and a big splash of jalapeno sauce. My family thought it was a great recipe. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This recipe was pretty good. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1/2 cup extra chicken broth and also added some diced chicken and a can of sliced mushrooms. I thought that it was a little bland and am hoping to put some more flavor in it next time I make it. The overall rating was definitely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Definitely add about a half cup more broth and spice the way you like but it's a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is OK if you want a quick version of jambalaya. I would recommend adding some spicy sausage to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Excellent basic jimbalaya recipe. Easy to add additional ingredients if you wish. In addition to the shrimp and ham, I added pre-cooked skinless chicken thighs, scallops, and sweet italian sausage. For a bit more Cajun "kick", I also added Red Pepper Flakes, Garlic herb spice, and 1 tbsp of Emeril's "Bam!" spice. Wonderful! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This is an awesome recipe for shrimp jambalaya..my advice is to use a little more chicken broth than the recipe calls for. Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States