Jambalaya With Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This dish was o.k., but I probably won't make again. There was just something about it that I wasn't crazy about. Although other members of my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Tried it and absolutely loved it. The family has requested it again! Jill - you said there was a lot of room to mess with the recipe. It is great just like it is! Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I love Jambalaya! This is an awesome recipe. I put spicy smoked sausage chunks in it instead and it added an extra kick. It could have used a little more vegi's though. But overall, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I threw in some blackened seasoning to spice it up a little more. Good stuff though, quick, easy, and tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
It's been a long time since I've had a recipe like this. If you like originals, this is one of them! A great big "thanks" to Jill for submitting it! I give it 5 stars - PLUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Fantastic! This was my first time making jambalaya and I loved it. As per some of the reviews, it needed extra liquid for the rice, but since I didn't have extra broth, I just added water as needed (about one and a half cups). I spiced it up with half a habanero, a little cayenne and some red pepper flakes. So easy to make and I only had to dirty one pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
One of our favorite recipes. Super easy to make and a great comfort food in the cold weather. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
My husband really enjoyed this, and surprisingly my kids did too. I am not a fan of Cajun food, but I ate it and it wasn't too spicy. I didn't have the ham on-hand, so I used 1 lb. beef smoked sausage, and I also added gumbo vegetables and some Cajun seasoning. Also I used brown rice and it was just as good. We will make this one again; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
A good recipe for jambalaya. I added some spicy dry red pepper, tabasco and cayenne pepper to give it an extra zing. I also didn't have any butter on hand but substituted with olive oil and buttersalt. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I modified this recipe by using only 1 cup of rice, added 1/2 c celery and 1/2 red pepper to onions & butter. Then I added cajun seasoning, Lowery's seasoned salt, fresh oregano, fresh basil and a big splash of jalapeno sauce. My family thought it was a great recipe. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States