Jambalaya With Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Delicious. I used 25-to-a-pound shrimp. I couldn't spend all that time peeling them without making use of the shells! So I put the shrimp shells in the chicken stock and added one more cup of chicken stock and one cup of white wine, then reduced it back down to the amount called-for in the recipe (then removed the shells, of course!) I also cooked the roux to a golden brown before proceeding with the rest of the recipe. The recipe does not call for "trinity" (onions, celery and green pepper) and no cajun seasoning - which I found interesting. So I served this recipe with a bottle of papaya hot sauce for people to pass around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Somehow this ended up mushy, as someone earlier said. Also, it definitely needed spicing up...red pepper flakes and/or hot sauce. I'm going to try another recipe for jambalaya next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was my first time making or eating jambalaya. It was great! I added a little cajon seasoning and hot sauce to spice it up just a bit. Great recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I couldn't resist adding some heat to it so I added a jalapeno, dried chili peppers, and a touch of chili powder. I also used traded out some of the onions for bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupalicious

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I thought this was great and I enjoyed making it. However, I don't think I could get away with making it again because my husband said he'd rather have Crawfish Etoufee (sp?) if I was going to make something like this. He and my bro-in-law still liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brinker1975
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Tried as per the recipe, except I used different herbs (mixed) and used my own chicken stock (broth). Not a meal I would try again, probably my dodgy stock mucked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Monchengladbach, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was a great recipe. I just made it the other day for Fat Tuesday. My picky husband LOVED it! I made a few adjustments. I thought I had shrimp in my freezer but I didn't so I cooked a large chicken breast and cut it up into small pieces. I also used two leftover italian sausages that I had in my fridge. I used two cloves of garlic and I added a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes, just to give it a little more kick. This is a super easy recipe to make and you can pretty much add any type of meat that you have on hand. You can really be creative with this recipe and make it your own! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Definatly use the smoked sausage in this recipe instead of the ham, it gives it nice smokey flavor, delish!!! Really nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Loved this recipe, it's the first one I tried! My husband is a great cook and cajun, so I was taking a chance! He likes ham and shrimp so I didn't alter the recipe although he usually makes his jambalaya with sausage and chicken. He called it a great "yankee" jambalaya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
A good Jambalaya starting recipe, I used shrimp and sausage for the meats. Person I cooked for had never had Jambalaya and loved it, I enjoyed it as well and will make it again. Happy Fat Tuesday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States