Jambalaya With Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I made this for all of my neighbors and I received lots of compliments. I used shrimp, ham, sausage and chicken; added some chili pepper, hot pepper seeds, just enough for flavor, not to make it hot; for those that like it hot, I posted a bottle of 'Louisianna Hot Sauce' and my neighbor brought over 'Tony Chacehere's Original Creole Seasoning'. WOW!! Next time i make this I will not make it with the rice in the soup, I will make them seperately and serve the Jambalaya over the rice. The rice became real mushy. Otherwise, love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
A very good hearty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This was such a quick, easy, and delicious meal! I like foods a little more on the spicy side, so I just doctored it up by adding a little bit of cayenne pepper and garlic powder. I'm certainly glad I came across this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
WE LOVED IT! Nice and easy to make. All in one pot, even better! Of course, if you want it spicey hot, you'll have to add that...but we loved it, just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This was OK. Kinda bland for my taste buds. I did add italian sausage which helped but overall it just had no BAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Delicious. I used 25-to-a-pound shrimp. I couldn't spend all that time peeling them without making use of the shells! So I put the shrimp shells in the chicken stock and added one more cup of chicken stock and one cup of white wine, then reduced it back down to the amount called-for in the recipe (then removed the shells, of course!) I also cooked the roux to a golden brown before proceeding with the rest of the recipe. The recipe does not call for "trinity" (onions, celery and green pepper) and no cajun seasoning - which I found interesting. So I served this recipe with a bottle of papaya hot sauce for people to pass around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Somehow this ended up mushy, as someone earlier said. Also, it definitely needed spicing up...red pepper flakes and/or hot sauce. I'm going to try another recipe for jambalaya next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was my first time making or eating jambalaya. It was great! I added a little cajon seasoning and hot sauce to spice it up just a bit. Great recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I couldn't resist adding some heat to it so I added a jalapeno, dried chili peppers, and a touch of chili powder. I also used traded out some of the onions for bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupalicious

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I thought this was great and I enjoyed making it. However, I don't think I could get away with making it again because my husband said he'd rather have Crawfish Etoufee (sp?) if I was going to make something like this. He and my bro-in-law still liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brinker1975
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States