Jambalaya With Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allen Tillis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
We totally enjoyed this but I modified this recipe likes others. I did not have any ham so just used shrimp. Only used 1 onion, I thought 3 would take over the recipe. I used a can of chicken broth, room temperature - it worked fine. Added fresh chopped tomatoes, fresh peppers, and best of all fresh yellow squash. Added fresh parsley, oregano and of course some Old Bay. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
3 words + more others but simply put "This recipe rocks!!!!!!!" There is so much room to make it your own. I just love it and my bf loved it too. I followed this recipe combined with several others. I used the shrimp shells to add to the chicken broth plus a cup of white wine and reduced it to 3 cups liquid and strained it prior to putting the liquid into the pot. I added chicken and spicy sausage as well as red pepper and celery. I also used some oldbay and seafood seasoning and through in this pre-mixed Cajun seasoning I had lying about. I added red pepper for a little more of a kick and used rices I had cooked from the day before in my fridge the result BAM! An amazing snowmageddon meal! This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Great dish I did mdified it with a jamaican pepper and seafood broth to give it more flavor but loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
We love this recipe in our firehouse. When we don't have an idea for dinner, we say lets do the jambalaya. Its always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Loved this recipe - thank you for posting! The flavor is surprisingly rich and creamy given the simple ingredients. I substituted bell pepper and celery for some of the onion and used bacon instead of ham because it's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Super good! I used Qinuoa in place of rice. It did need a little more flavor, so that's the only reason it lost a star. I'm glad I made this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was very good...I made it with vegetable broth instead of chicken. I also left out the ham...completely gone in about 20mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Add some bay leaves and tobasco and this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Definitely needs more liquid - I added about 1 1/2 cups. I also included about 1/4 cup tomato sauce in that liquid because my tomatoes were fresh and there wasn't much juice. Overall, a very good recipe that can easily be tweeted to just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States