Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Fabulous! This was my first time making jambalaya that didn't involve a Zatarain's box :). Like some other reviewers, I used chicken breasts. I added seasonings to the chicken broth, as well. I used Trader Joe's andouille chicken sausage, and browned it in the pot along with the green peppers. I omitted the onion and used onion powder instead. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. This is delicious, and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zekele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made this recipe tonight and is was sooooo good. This is the first time I have ever made a jambalaya. My husband and I really enjoyed it. I will make it again in the near future. I have read the reviews of this recipe and they were all very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great, tasty recipe. Reminds me of my time in Louisiana many tears ago. Now I need some crawfish, redfish or catfish to go with it. Next time I will add shrimp to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norway, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was awesome! I've never made jambalaya before so was a little nervous, but it came out wonderful. My husband loved it and even went back for seconds (he never eats seconds). The next day he ate the leftovers for lunch (didn't even save me any, lol). This is a new favorite... can't wait to make it for company!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is one fantastic dish. I have made it 4 or 5 times, for family, in-laws and friends. Always gets high praise. I make sure to make my stock with the whole chicken (skin-on) and at least a pound of hot Italian sausage. Using this as the broth brings out a rich flavor. The heat is good, and always available for increase or decrease depending on taste. Definitely make rice separately. Everyone has different opinion on amount of rice needed. Let them add their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
excellent flavor, beautiful presentation, i cooked it for a big group of people and the all loved it. it can be spicy so choose your audience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
First attempt at Jambalaya and it turned out great. Served it on New Years day and everyone loved. I saved a lot of time by purchasing a deli-made rotisserie chicken and canned chicken broth. I agree with other reviews, this definitely needed more rice. Next time I will probably use 3 to 4 cups of rice. Also, this is a great leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
The taste was so so and it definitely needs more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made this recipe for my family which is a very picky eaters and they loved it, my daugther which loves hot food said it was at the right temp but I did do some changes to the recipe due to I can not eat bell peppers so I use new mexico peppers/green chilles which provided the heat to the dish. This is the closes we have come to eating bayou food in along time due too we are currently living in West Africa where you just can't run out the the store and buy the necessary ingredients need for this recipe or any other recipes. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
As my husband said upon tasting it, "This rocks!". Pretty simple yet deliciously flavorful. I used a can of tomato puree versus paste since I don't like the heaviness of paste. I also added oregano (1 tsp.), parsley (1.5 tsp) and thyme (1/2 tsp.) to give the tomato taste more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States