Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this for my family on Fat Tuesday. Since we were short on time during that busy weeknight, I made the rice separately, which significatly reduced the cooking time. It was delicious and we will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was good but just didn't wow me. I made just as is written and be very prepared for spicy. I like spicy but some of my Super Bowl guests were not as high on it. It was just too spicy for some. Have some cold, cold beer ready to quench the fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Good stuff. Use some Tasso Ham and Andouille Sausage instead of the smoked sausage if you can get your hands on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Delicious flavor, but I simmered for over an hour and could NOT get the rice cooked thoroughly. I loved it anyway, but next time I'm going to make the rice separately until just cooked, then simmer in the Jambalaya for a while for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I never tried to make this before and it was easier than I thought but it did take me longer than what the recipe stated so keep that in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is wonderful! I've never made Jambalaya before But I really like this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This recipe does taste good, but it doesn't really have the "jambalaya" flavor I was looking for. Instead, it seems to taste more like a cross between chili (chicken version) and spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is a really great recipe. It does take longer to cook the rice than the recipe dictates. Amazing, cost effective recipe that is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by College Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is, hands down, the best jambalaya recipe I've made. I have been making this one for a few months now (just realized I never reviewed it). It is WELL worth the time it takes to prepare. I never measure my spices and this dish allows me to do just that. I sometimes add in more rice, counter that with more fresh stock. More cajun seasoning, less cayenne, whatever we are in the mood for that day. It is also a relatively cheap meal if you consider how much food it makes (again, sometimes using more rice than called for). Leftovers are fantastic with a little broth splashed in while reheating. Pair this with some cornbread and you've got some full kids with warm bellies. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsimon99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
the recipe was a great dinner for a small crowd. I cooked the chicken in the oven for some added quickness and then added an Anaheim pepper for a little kick>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States