Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Incredible! This is a fabulous recipe. I don't have the time to cook the chicken and sausage so I use the pre-roasted non MSG chicken from the deli and the Hillshire Farms precooked spicy hot smoked sausage. For the reserved stock I use Pacific low sodium chicken broth and beef both. Those cajun complicated recipes with specialized spices and ingredients have nothing on this recipe. Love love love it. Don't forget to throw peeled and deveined non-cooked shrimp in 5-10 minutes before serving. If you use precooked shrimp just give it enough time to warmup but not too long or they will be tough. Watch your sodium by using low sodium stock, broth, and tomatoes. Good sides are corn on the cob and corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I can't say I've had "real" jambalaya (I've had a few in my day, but none that were like this), but this was phenomenal. I did forget to add the hot sauce, but that was easily remedied. Hubby and I gobbled this whole thing up in 2 meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made a few tweaks because I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand and added others to suit my taste. I added 2 cans of corn (didn't have peppers tho even if I did I'd have still added the corn cause I've always ate it in restos like that) garlic powder, celery salt and creole seasoning. Also didn't have chilli powder so I used cumin. Came out great and very spicy, the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Excellent recipe! We like it spicy so I made just a few changes: used brown rice & subbed 1 can diced tomatoes w/jalapenos for the regular. Also added 1/4 tsp of ground chipotle pepper and Sriracha instead of the hot sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My husband loved the big chunks of chicken in this because I guess I missed the shredding part of the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is excellent. I didn't change a thing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this for the very first time ever for Mardi Gras. We had a themed gathering with the family and everyone enjoyed this dish. I tossed in some shrimp too! I've had homemade jambalaya before and this recipe tops it times 10! The spice/hot level was favourable among my guests as well. They enjoyed the heat intensity... it wasnt too mild nor too hot for them which helps make this perfect for multiple guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was yummy. My husband thought it had too much chicken so next time I'll cut back on the chicken and add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Really good, but needed a little more kick as stated in a previous review. I also added shrimp which was a hit. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I recently used this recipe for my first time making jambalaya...and now it will be the only one i use! Everyone I was cooking for absolutely loved it. I did add about 1/2 lb of uncooked shrimp right at the end but otherwise I stuck to the recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States