Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I decided to try this recipe because of all the positive reviews. I was disappointed. It was very bland. Not spicy at all - it was so not spicy that I gave it to my 15 month old daughter. I've never been to New Orleans so I've never had it from there; my only comparisons are the Zatarans box mix and a Cajun restaurant in center city Philadelphia. After having both of those, I knew what to expect. This just tasted like tomato covered rice. I did cook the rice by itself using the chicken stock instead of cooking it with everything because I had already spent about an hour and a half preparing everything...everything except the chicken which I cooked a couple days before. I didn't use a whole chicken but instead used thighs and drumsticks. I didn't like it with the chicken being shredded. Chunks would have been better. Also neither my husband nor myself like sausage so I omitted that and we didn't add shrimp. I would like to tryit once more and give it another chance. I'll try it with the chicken chunks instead next time and since I know how long it takes, I'll be prepared and cook the rice with the entire mix. And I'll probably only use hald the amount of tomato paste and tomatoes because the tomato flavor was way too much. After I make it again, I'll update my review. Hopefully I'll be able to give it more stars next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is what cooking is all about to me - a labor of love that takes time not effort, and the sum is greater than its humble parts. My husband loves this, and I love the process of making it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Incredible! This is a fabulous recipe. I don't have the time to cook the chicken and sausage so I use the pre-roasted non MSG chicken from the deli and the Hillshire Farms precooked spicy hot smoked sausage. For the reserved stock I use Pacific low sodium chicken broth and beef both. Those cajun complicated recipes with specialized spices and ingredients have nothing on this recipe. Love love love it. Don't forget to throw peeled and deveined non-cooked shrimp in 5-10 minutes before serving. If you use precooked shrimp just give it enough time to warmup but not too long or they will be tough. Watch your sodium by using low sodium stock, broth, and tomatoes. Good sides are corn on the cob and corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I can't say I've had "real" jambalaya (I've had a few in my day, but none that were like this), but this was phenomenal. I did forget to add the hot sauce, but that was easily remedied. Hubby and I gobbled this whole thing up in 2 meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made a few tweaks because I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand and added others to suit my taste. I added 2 cans of corn (didn't have peppers tho even if I did I'd have still added the corn cause I've always ate it in restos like that) garlic powder, celery salt and creole seasoning. Also didn't have chilli powder so I used cumin. Came out great and very spicy, the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Excellent recipe! We like it spicy so I made just a few changes: used brown rice & subbed 1 can diced tomatoes w/jalapenos for the regular. Also added 1/4 tsp of ground chipotle pepper and Sriracha instead of the hot sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My husband loved the big chunks of chicken in this because I guess I missed the shredding part of the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is excellent. I didn't change a thing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this for the very first time ever for Mardi Gras. We had a themed gathering with the family and everyone enjoyed this dish. I tossed in some shrimp too! I've had homemade jambalaya before and this recipe tops it times 10! The spice/hot level was favourable among my guests as well. They enjoyed the heat intensity... it wasnt too mild nor too hot for them which helps make this perfect for multiple guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was yummy. My husband thought it had too much chicken so next time I'll cut back on the chicken and add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States