Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Really good recipe,I made double the serving because I had a big group of people over. I added a bit of peanut butter when sauteing the onions and green pepper. It added a depth of flavor. i only added a tiny bit about 3/4 a teaspoon. I didnt have cayenne pepper, I bought a seasoning called Mexican chili powder that has, chili powder , cumin and garlic perfect for this jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Was pretty good for first time making Jambalaya. I would suggest cooking rice separately and then adding. Took a while for rice to get tender in mixture. I would add more spice because it was not very spicy by recipe. I will fine tune it and add Shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great recipe! I had to add more seasoning though: cumin, adobo and Sazon. It still was missing something, didn't realize what it was til I started reading the reviews. Please add Creole seasoning to this recipe or you will not get that Cajun flavor. Otherwise great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Was a little bland for my taste - and I added a lot more spice... Also needs more rice to be like the jambalaya I have had before... I agree with others that adding shrimp is needed, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweger.
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Great recipe adjusted it for 12 servings came out great. Added smoked shrimp from my Treager smoker grill to give it a smoked flavor everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Love this recipe! I usually cook it in a slow cooker. If I am running short on prep time I just put the whole chicken in then lift it out, after cooking, in one piece (depending on how much it falls apart) & return the meat to the pot. I often add a little smoked paprika or may substitute some black garlic for part of the fresh. I have also added chunks of squash, zucchini, or okra when my CSA has given me more than I can otherwise use. They soak up the flavor & don't change the taste of the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Yumm!!! My husband and I couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe was awesome. I followed it pretty much to the letter. I used 2 green peppers because they were huge. This wasn't extremely spicy. Next time, I will probably increase the hot sauce and/or cayenne pepper slightly. It was interesting regarding the heat/spiciness of this recipe. The heat was an kind of an afterthought, or kind of in the background. But as a matter of personal taste, I prefer it a little more spicy. It did seem to take a little longer for the prep time for me than the recipe indicated. But that was probably due to my not being so great at chopping and dicing. Great recipe. The jambalaya I cooked was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Not spicy at all - it was so not spicy that I gave it to my 15 month old daughter. I've never been to New Orleans; my only comparisons are the Zatarans box mix and a Cajun restaurantPhiladelphia. After having both of those, I knew what to expect. I did cook the rice seperately; the chicken I cooked a couple days before. Also neither my husband nor myself like sausage so I omitted that and we didn't add shrimp. I would like to tryit once more and give it another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is what cooking is all about to me - a labor of love that takes time not effort, and the sum is greater than its humble parts. My husband loves this, and I love the process of making it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States