Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Yumm!!! My husband and I couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe was awesome. I followed it pretty much to the letter. I used 2 green peppers because they were huge. This wasn't extremely spicy. Next time, I will probably increase the hot sauce and/or cayenne pepper slightly. It was interesting regarding the heat/spiciness of this recipe. The heat was an kind of an afterthought, or kind of in the background. But as a matter of personal taste, I prefer it a little more spicy. It did seem to take a little longer for the prep time for me than the recipe indicated. But that was probably due to my not being so great at chopping and dicing. Great recipe. The jambalaya I cooked was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Not spicy at all - it was so not spicy that I gave it to my 15 month old daughter. I've never been to New Orleans; my only comparisons are the Zatarans box mix and a Cajun restaurantPhiladelphia. After having both of those, I knew what to expect. I did cook the rice seperately; the chicken I cooked a couple days before. Also neither my husband nor myself like sausage so I omitted that and we didn't add shrimp. I would like to tryit once more and give it another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is what cooking is all about to me - a labor of love that takes time not effort, and the sum is greater than its humble parts. My husband loves this, and I love the process of making it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Incredible! This is a fabulous recipe. I don't have the time to cook the chicken and sausage so I use the pre-roasted non MSG chicken from the deli and the Hillshire Farms precooked spicy hot smoked sausage. For the reserved stock I use Pacific low sodium chicken broth and beef both. Those cajun complicated recipes with specialized spices and ingredients have nothing on this recipe. Love love love it. Don't forget to throw peeled and deveined non-cooked shrimp in 5-10 minutes before serving. If you use precooked shrimp just give it enough time to warmup but not too long or they will be tough. Watch your sodium by using low sodium stock, broth, and tomatoes. Good sides are corn on the cob and corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I can't say I've had "real" jambalaya (I've had a few in my day, but none that were like this), but this was phenomenal. I did forget to add the hot sauce, but that was easily remedied. Hubby and I gobbled this whole thing up in 2 meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made a few tweaks because I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand and added others to suit my taste. I added 2 cans of corn (didn't have peppers tho even if I did I'd have still added the corn cause I've always ate it in restos like that) garlic powder, celery salt and creole seasoning. Also didn't have chilli powder so I used cumin. Came out great and very spicy, the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Excellent recipe! We like it spicy so I made just a few changes: used brown rice & subbed 1 can diced tomatoes w/jalapenos for the regular. Also added 1/4 tsp of ground chipotle pepper and Sriracha instead of the hot sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My husband loved the big chunks of chicken in this because I guess I missed the shredding part of the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is excellent. I didn't change a thing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States