Jambalasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Wow this is so good!! I love Zatarains Jambalya but this is so much better. I was out of linguine or any other spaghetti noodle so I just used penne, the only type of pasta I had! I omitted the chicken and the cornstarch and added a green pepper with the onion. I thought I had cajon seasoning but it turned out to be sante fe seasoning but I went ahead and used it and it was fine. The tomatoes I used were hot with green chiles, I used two 14.5 oz cans, one drained one undrained and Franks Red Hot for the hot sauce. Will be making this a lot!!! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I do not like kielbasa normally and my family does. So I decided to make it for them. It was absolutely delish. I will definately be making this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
First I am not a big fan of rice. When I saw this recipe I had to try it and it was the hit of the evening. The only change I made was cooking the tomatoes about 40 min and then added the shrimp. Keep up the good work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Kids thought it was too spicy, husband and I LOVED it. Even better a day or two later as leftovers with a bit of cheese grated on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikerchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is FANTASTIC stuff. The only thing I did different was to brown the sausage in a seperate pan. We will certainly be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PitBoss007
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good! I used rotini instead as well, worked awesome. I also added green chilies and scallions. This was amazing. I left out the hot sauce, and am glad I did. With the chilies it was plenty hot. Served with buiscuts and was almost gone! Oh, and I'm going to call it Jumbalasta, sounds better than Pastalya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this meal. I only changed a couple of things to suit my own taste; I did not use the hot sauce and I used Orzo pasta. It had a really nice flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
My husband loved this! I left out the shrimp because I didn't have any on hand and it was still great. I think you can use any combo of the meats or any one meat by itself. Very good. Different too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is a great recipe! I've made it several times since finding it. We have seafood allergies in our family so I omitted the shrimp, but added a can of kidney beans just to bulk it up a bit. Like another reviewer said, I didn't need the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
GREAT!!! A new and tastey addition to my list of dinners to make. It's so simple the kids could help make it! I used pasta I made fresh, and hubby was blown away. Did not have any problems, followed the recipe exactly, except I did not have paprika, cornstarch, or tobasco, so I put in extra cajun seasoning(tonys brand)used flour, and tapatio. The only advie I have is to double check your shrimp and make sure they are devained! ( I spent 2hours at the sink doing this on salad shrimP! Learned my lesson!) And if your shrimp were precooked/cleaned, add them last, after the kielbasa and cornstarch(orr flour), so they don't turn to rubber. Other than my own mistakes, this was a great toss together meal for the well-prepared! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States