Jambalasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I'm from Louisiana and this recipe is called Pastalaya, not Jambalasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Excellent! I made this as directed except I skipped the cornstarch (maybe my tomatoes, but I didn't need it), and tossed my sauce with the linguine. I also added the shrimp in the last few minutes with the pasta - I think they could have gotten too done as written. Anyway, fabulous idea and flavors - my guys were thrilled. I threw some chopped green and yellow peppers and chopped parsely on when I served it. Thanks for the recipe - nicely done! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I used rotini pasta instead of linguine because I like the way it holds the sauce. I didn't use chicken, but it was still yummy with just the shrimp and sausage. It was spicy, but my picky daughter liked it too. It made the house smell great while it was cooking. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I really enjoyed this and had all the ingredients on hand! I made a roux instead of using corn starch and I used beer instead of water (beer makes everything taste better). Finally, I added a splash of cream at the end because I realized I added too much hot sauce and needed to mellow it out. Got great reviews from everyone I served it to. The sauce was flavorful and spicy. Served it with some roasted asparagus but next time I think throwing vegetables right into the sauce would be better--but that’s the Yankee in me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Kids thought it was too spicy, husband and I LOVED it. Even better a day or two later as leftovers with a bit of cheese grated on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikerchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Recipe is great for the most part, but to be truly authentic 'Pastalaya' as it's called in Louisiana, firm short pasta should be used because long spaghetti, linguini, fettuccini noodles will break up and get kind of mushy. Also, Kebalsa and Cajun just don't do together Shaa, so please use Andouille or a good smoked sausage and you'll have yourself a delicious, authentic Cajun Pastalaya that everyone will love. My pasta preference is Penne or Ziti, but Rotini and Bowtie is also good. Cest bon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graffagnino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
First I am not a big fan of rice. When I saw this recipe I had to try it and it was the hit of the evening. The only change I made was cooking the tomatoes about 40 min and then added the shrimp. Keep up the good work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Can I give this a 5+++? This is amazing. My husband asked for jambalaya but does not like rice so I searched for a recipe that was made with pasta instead and found this one. I invited all my kids home for dinner==>I have 3 grown sons so I tripled the recipe. Fantastic. Only change I made was that I used penne pasta rather than linguini (hubby's preference). Been making it for almost 3 years now and never get tired of it. A friend of my sons has had it and then ordered at a restaurant. He told the staff they needed to ask me for my recipe cuz theirs didn't even come close. If you get the chance you have to make this. RAESIVE thank you for sharing this. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We've made this a couple of times now, and it's absolutely delicious. It makes a great "one course dinner". The second time I prepared it, I made the following modifications: Added 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (gives it some heat, which we found to be just right). Added 1/2 cup chicken broth (I used bouillon) and a splash of sherry, plus 2 Tbsp cornstarch dissolved in 1/2 cup water (as written, this sauce is a bit dry). As others have mentioned, this recipe needs peppers! I chopped up some small sweet peppers which were a great addition. I reduced the amount of pasta to 16oz, which is quite enough. That extra 8oz of pasta the recipe calls for is literally 8oz too much. We blended all the sauce and pasta together and found the proportion of sauce to pasta to be very good. I used orecchiette this time, but the linguine is also good - they each hold the sauce a bit differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Delish! It made a lot of food so it would be good to feed a crowd! I wanted a little more spice though. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States