Jambalasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
First I am not a big fan of rice. When I saw this recipe I had to try it and it was the hit of the evening. The only change I made was cooking the tomatoes about 40 min and then added the shrimp. Keep up the good work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I used rotini pasta instead of linguine because I like the way it holds the sauce. I didn't use chicken, but it was still yummy with just the shrimp and sausage. It was spicy, but my picky daughter liked it too. It made the house smell great while it was cooking. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was good and spicy. I didn't use chicken, just the shrimp and sausage. I also used fettucine instead of linguine. Next time I am going to add some vegetables, I think broccoli and zucchini would go well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I'm from Louisiana and this recipe is called Pastalaya, not Jambalasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is FANTASTIC stuff. The only thing I did different was to brown the sausage in a seperate pan. We will certainly be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PitBoss007
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good! I used rotini instead as well, worked awesome. I also added green chilies and scallions. This was amazing. I left out the hot sauce, and am glad I did. With the chilies it was plenty hot. Served with buiscuts and was almost gone! Oh, and I'm going to call it Jumbalasta, sounds better than Pastalya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this meal. I only changed a couple of things to suit my own taste; I did not use the hot sauce and I used Orzo pasta. It had a really nice flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
My husband loved this! I left out the shrimp because I didn't have any on hand and it was still great. I think you can use any combo of the meats or any one meat by itself. Very good. Different too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I do not like kielbasa normally and my family does. So I decided to make it for them. It was absolutely delish. I will definately be making this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Excellent! I made this as directed except I skipped the cornstarch (maybe my tomatoes, but I didn't need it), and tossed my sauce with the linguine. I also added the shrimp in the last few minutes with the pasta - I think they could have gotten too done as written. Anyway, fabulous idea and flavors - my guys were thrilled. I threw some chopped green and yellow peppers and chopped parsely on when I served it. Thanks for the recipe - nicely done! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States