Jambalasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Lazycook
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I do not care how it called-pastalaya or jambalasta. Most important thing - it tastes good! The only thing I change-added less pasta. Easy to make, great dish, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Delish. Made it exactly as written except we reduced the amount of pasta as we are only three. I also reduced the amount of hot sauce to 2 teaspoons. That was a mistake. It needs the full tablespoon. I believe it will round out and balance the flavours and shouldn't make it too hot at all. I didn't have diced tomatoes, so I used the same amount of italian plum tomatoes I had on hand and took my scissors to them. This dish will be definitely be made again in our house as even my teenager snarfed it. Next time I might try what one of the other reviewers stated and saute the onions and garlic and then toss everything except the shrimp in the slow cooker for the day to slowly let the flavours evolve and then add the shrimp near the end to cook through. Oh and if you have a sucky husband like mine, buy larger count shrimp so it's easy to remove the tails so HE doesn't have to!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Delicious! The only change I made was to add heavy cream(just a small amount at the end ) to make it a little creamy. I have a feeling this will taste even better the next day. My picky kids liked it too, which is miraculous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Made this last night, and my family loved it. My husband compared it to the one at the YardHouse Restaurant, and said it tastes similar, but my version was better (of course). The only thing I did different, was add chopped green bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was delicious. Good amount of spice without being overbearing. Allows the other flavors to come through nicely. I make a similar crock pot recipe but this was better and quicker. Added some chopped green pepper otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Served it over pasta as directed but I prefer this dish over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was a big hit for us. Very easy to make and make your own. I used chicken sausage (not big on kielbasa), and added green and red peppers, and fresh corn off the cob. I put it over zucchini noodles and it was healthy, filling, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by honeykaron
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Never made a Cajun dish before and this was delish!!!! Made it just like the recipe called for. I was suprized at the flavor with the small amounts of spices used! Next time I will use rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Spicy, easy to make, proportions just right as written. A good meal, but not for those ho don't like spicy foods as written.... I thoroughly enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Used ordinary ingredients, was simple and fast. The taste was great. A little spicey but you can leave out the hot sauce for a milder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Recipe is great for the most part, but to be truly authentic 'Pastalaya' as it's called in Louisiana, firm short pasta should be used because long spaghetti, linguini, fettuccini noodles will break up and get kind of mushy. Also, Kebalsa and Cajun just don't do together Shaa, so please use Andouille or a good smoked sausage and you'll have yourself a delicious, authentic Cajun Pastalaya that everyone will love. My pasta preference is Penne or Ziti, but Rotini and Bowtie is also good. Cest bon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graffagnino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States