Jambalasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Wonderful meal. I did change some minor pieces out of necessity. First I used the crockpot and let it cook the kielbasa and chicken along with the other ingredients. A bag of thawed cleaned shrimp without shells etc was put in about 20 minutes before turning the pot off The next item changed on this round of fixing the dish, I substituted a 24 oz jar of corn and black bean salsa for the tomatoes and a small can of tomato sauce - not because I was being creative but those were here and the tomatoes were at the store. I did cut back on the hot sauce because of the salsa. A box of dirty rice was cooked and added to the collective mix at the Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Can I give this a 5+++? This is amazing. My husband asked for jambalaya but does not like rice so I searched for a recipe that was made with pasta instead and found this one. I invited all my kids home for dinner==>I have 3 grown sons so I tripled the recipe. Fantastic. Only change I made was that I used penne pasta rather than linguini (hubby's preference). Been making it for almost 3 years now and never get tired of it. A friend of my sons has had it and then ordered at a restaurant. He told the staff they needed to ask me for my recipe cuz theirs didn't even come close. If you get the chance you have to make this. RAESIVE thank you for sharing this. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I just finished serving this Jambalaya to the men in my family. They loved it and had seconds within minutes. It is a keeper. Most importantly,it is a quick meal that brings rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This was wonderful! Definitely a bit spicy but we like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. Everyone loves it and they all want to recipe. Every time I make it I have to double the recipe because everyone wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very good. I made some changes to use what I had on hand but we really enjoyed it. It was a little sweet, I'm not sure you need the whole 1 tbsp of sugar. I added peppers to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We've made this a couple of times now, and it's absolutely delicious. It makes a great "one course dinner". The second time I prepared it, I made the following modifications: Added 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (gives it some heat, which we found to be just right). Added 1/2 cup chicken broth (I used bouillon) and a splash of sherry, plus 2 Tbsp cornstarch dissolved in 1/2 cup water (as written, this sauce is a bit dry). As others have mentioned, this recipe needs peppers! I chopped up some small sweet peppers which were a great addition. I reduced the amount of pasta to 16oz, which is quite enough. That extra 8oz of pasta the recipe calls for is literally 8oz too much. We blended all the sauce and pasta together and found the proportion of sauce to pasta to be very good. I used orecchiette this time, but the linguine is also good - they each hold the sauce a bit differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Taste great! I did make a few changes. I added chopped celery and diced garlic. I also used cooked chicken, and I did not add corn starch. In fact, I added about a cup of water. Oh one more thing, I didn't add my shrimp til' the very end. I did not want them to be over cooked. Seasonings were great though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Loved it! We left out the shrimp because we don't care for seafood, but other than that we made it exactly as written. Does anyone know if you can freeze it? My husband and I will never finish all the leftovers before they go bad and I hate to waste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States