Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Too much salt! Will leave the salt out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Subbed 1/4 tsp of cinnamon for the allspice. Added an extra potato and an extra tbsp of ginger. Subbed a pinch of chilli flakes for cayenne pepper and added about 4 handfuls of spinach instead of the one cup. Also did not add the peppers and the zucchini. Puréed until smooth. VERY DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This recipe lacks flavor and character. It works out to be a warm mix of veggies that doesn't even jive. I ate it cause that's how I do, but will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Fantastic! Pretty much perfect, but I do add a lot more spinach than it calls for. Sometimes I'll add a jalapeno for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Excellent...my family loved this soup, it was so tasty! It will be made again & again, Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very tasty, I forgot the zucchini and it was still delicious. This will become one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This soup is a keeper. I added white beans for protein. I will make it again soon to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I liked this a lot--I like healthy recipes. :) I also liked how this depended on spices for flavor rather than salt (healthier! And more interesting...). Unfortunately, when I went to add spinach, I discovered I did not have any. I improvised and threw in some green peas. It was still really good, great flavor, but next time I will make sure to try it with spinach! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We made this soup last night for a Jamaican lunch my daughter's Girl Scout troop is doing today. We made it exactly as written, and it seemed a little bland, so we added a little more salt and cayenne. I know that some soups are much better the next day, so I was hoping this was the case. I heated up a bit a few minutes ago and it was delicious! I do think using fresh ginger is very important to this recipe, and next time (yes, there WILL be a next time!) I will probably use chicken broth rather than vegetable. The key is making it ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUBEENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is such a flavorful, quick soup, I know I will make it often. I was too lazy to make a veg. stock so used chicken stock I had in the freezer. The ginger is subtle but gives a wonderful warmth. My family is never too impressed with zucchini unless it's in a cake but they all loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States