Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This recipe lacks flavor and character. It works out to be a warm mix of veggies that doesn't even jive. I ate it cause that's how I do, but will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Fantastic! Pretty much perfect, but I do add a lot more spinach than it calls for. Sometimes I'll add a jalapeno for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Excellent...my family loved this soup, it was so tasty! It will be made again & again, Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very tasty, I forgot the zucchini and it was still delicious. This will become one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This soup is a keeper. I added white beans for protein. I will make it again soon to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I liked this a lot--I like healthy recipes. :) I also liked how this depended on spices for flavor rather than salt (healthier! And more interesting...). Unfortunately, when I went to add spinach, I discovered I did not have any. I improvised and threw in some green peas. It was still really good, great flavor, but next time I will make sure to try it with spinach! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We made this soup last night for a Jamaican lunch my daughter's Girl Scout troop is doing today. We made it exactly as written, and it seemed a little bland, so we added a little more salt and cayenne. I know that some soups are much better the next day, so I was hoping this was the case. I heated up a bit a few minutes ago and it was delicious! I do think using fresh ginger is very important to this recipe, and next time (yes, there WILL be a next time!) I will probably use chicken broth rather than vegetable. The key is making it ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUBEENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is such a flavorful, quick soup, I know I will make it often. I was too lazy to make a veg. stock so used chicken stock I had in the freezer. The ginger is subtle but gives a wonderful warmth. My family is never too impressed with zucchini unless it's in a cake but they all loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
What a lovely soup! Made as written except didn't have a potato so used a carrot. It was delicious and the spices are perfect. As a vegetarian, I'll be making this a lot. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is a recipe from the Fresh cookbook. Fresh is a restaurant in Toronto which makes amazing soups. This recipe doesn't reflect that in my mind. I had the cookbook and googled it to get reviews. Well I followed others reviewers instructions adding an extra potato to make it thicker and the consistency was perfect. The only other change I made was I used chicken broth instead of veg. The soup was good but bland, which I think was a reflection of the potatoes. I added some lemon and durkee hot sauce and I think I over did it because the hot sauce was overwhelming in it after I did that. I will probably make it again and add less hot sauce next time but it definitely needs something to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States