Jamaican Saltfish Fritters (Stamp and Go) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Oh lord, these are delicious! I added some jalepeno pepper because thats all the pepper I had on hand and a little bit of celery only because I need to use it up. SOOOOO GOOD! If I wasnt pregnant I would love to crack a red stripe beer and enjoy! You could mix up the vegetable adding sweet peppers etc. I also added maybe a few teaspoons more of water but I am assuming that is because my hubby didnt measure the flour proper. The amount of water / flour is basically spot on! I made my quite thick so I did cook about 7-8 min on each side and I also used olive oil, also all I had. I only boiled the fish for 5 min as directed and the amount of salt was perfect. Oh, I did add 1 teaspoon of vegetable bouillion as well - just for a tad more flavour! Hubby had 7 I had 3.. all gone in 5 min max!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
OMG!!! just made a batch and if I'm not eating them as they come out!!!! At this rate I will have none left....I made the recipe exactly but I did add one scotch bonnet and increased the saltfish because I like to taste it in every bit...yum yum yum...thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I thought this was delicious. Made a batch for Christmas morning breakfast and it was the bomb. I used chicken stock instead of water and added scotch bonnet peppers. Yum, yum, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMARTIN123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I added fresh Thyme and 1 Scotch Bonnett pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I kicked it up a notch by adding bonnet scotch. I blended that with the tomatoes, onions, pepper in my vitamix first then continued with the receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Yesss gyal!!! I've been wanting these forever but never knew how to make them and don't like the ones I've found in restaurants. I made them last night as directed except added some scotch bonnet. They were delicious! No one in my house really likes saltfish so I was lucky enough to be able to eat them all myself, and I sure did! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
this is oh so good. next time i will boil the saltfish three times instead of two; it was still too salty for my family taste. But otherwise it was good. I also added extra seasonings like sweet pepper, thyme, basil, cayenne pepper,onion chive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This recipe turned out SO well, I felt like I had been making the fritters for years! I added scotch bonnet peppers, and that gave it the kick that Jamaicans are accustomed to having. I actually made it for a multi-cultural expo at my church and EVERYBODY raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber James
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It was good I tasted the first batch and it needed a little kick of spice so I added Bahama spicy seafood seasoning to it made it better mine didn't come out as well as the picture but still the family was asking for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
his is too much black pepper, should be cut by half teaspoon. And a bit more water is needed. usually Fritas are not so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vashanti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States