Jamaican Saltfish Fritters (Stamp and Go) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
In the west indies it's also called "Bake and Saltfish." I usually make the saltfish very much like you did, but I add a few cloves of minced garlic. In NYC I ran across a deli that put shredded cabbage and carrots in the mixture; sounds kinda weird but it was fantasic! I've made it at home just the same. Kids and hubby loved it, and it helped stretch the saltfish, that is quite expensive in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Shumway-Khan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I kicked it up a notch by adding bonnet scotch. I blended that with the tomatoes, onions, pepper in my vitamix first then continued with the receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I tried it today... Left out the baking powder, added scotch bonnet AND cayenne pepper (I like my food spicy). They were PERFECT. It was my first time making them too. I even added (cooked) shrimp to some of the batter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Oh lord, these are delicious! I added some jalepeno pepper because thats all the pepper I had on hand and a little bit of celery only because I need to use it up. SOOOOO GOOD! If I wasnt pregnant I would love to crack a red stripe beer and enjoy! You could mix up the vegetable adding sweet peppers etc. I also added maybe a few teaspoons more of water but I am assuming that is because my hubby didnt measure the flour proper. The amount of water / flour is basically spot on! I made my quite thick so I did cook about 7-8 min on each side and I also used olive oil, also all I had. I only boiled the fish for 5 min as directed and the amount of salt was perfect. Oh, I did add 1 teaspoon of vegetable bouillion as well - just for a tad more flavour! Hubby had 7 I had 3.. all gone in 5 min max!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I thought this was delicious. Made a batch for Christmas morning breakfast and it was the bomb. I used chicken stock instead of water and added scotch bonnet peppers. Yum, yum, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMARTIN123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
little dry. will try adding an egg next time and using less flour. added some hot sauce for a little kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
OMG!!! just made a batch and if I'm not eating them as they come out!!!! At this rate I will have none left....I made the recipe exactly but I did add one scotch bonnet and increased the saltfish because I like to taste it in every bit...yum yum yum...thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very good. Changed the water to milk and add one egg but otherwise made the recipe as written. My son said it was the best he'd ever tasted - not that he's had fritters before :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwabySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I love fritters. When I make them, I usually add sweet pepper and hot pepper (country pepper), and I make the batter the same consistency as when making pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latoya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Sorry Monique C. I followed this recipe and I didn't care for these. They seemed to soak up alot of oil, making them pretty greasy. I also thought they were kind of bland so I added some cayenne to kick it up a notch but it still didn't appeal to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States