Jamaican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Unfortunately this was not a taste we could handle. I don't think my family would care for it even with changes made to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Nice twist on rice, goes great with spicy foods
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was a pleasant surprise. I really liked it. It was a perfect dish to go with the spicy Jerk Chicken we made. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I was nervous about how this would turn out, but it was delish. I added a half cup of coconut milk since my husband dislikes the texture of flaked coconut. It took about 10 minutes longer took, but was worth it. I think a bit of cinnamon and ginger would make it perfect for breakfast, while diced chicken, salt, and pepper would make it a complete one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
We made this rice with the 'Spicy Salmon and Caramelized Onions' recipe found on this site. We did not have curry powder so we used a mixture of cumin, chili powder, cayenne, paprika, black pepper, and cinnamon instead. We also added garlic when we sauteed the onions. It was different but delicious! Went perfectly with the spicy salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great recipe with spicy jerk chicken! I didn't have coconut and it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hadorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
We used brown sugar instead of the molasses, and added pineapple with the banannas. Very good, we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was delicious! The whole family loved it, including my 10 month old! I shared the recipe with all my friends on another website and they're all excited to try it. I'd like to add chopped nuts or beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I was quite pleasantly suprised by this recipe. My first thought was GROSS, but then I read the reviews and pretty much, on the whole, they were saying that this was a perfect compliment to a Jamaican Jerk recipe. So I thought I would give it whirl. I'm really glad that I did...and it was a perfect compliment to Jay's Jerk Chicken from this site. Only one person out of the five I made it for didn't like it...and that was solely because she doesn't like bananas. We won't count her...LOL! Thanks for a really unique and delicious recipe that I had a lot of fun making!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Great twist on rice. I make this all the time with Jerk Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States