Jamaican Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I used the idea of this recipe. I recently went to the Caymans and fell in love with the Jamaican Patties. The bread crumbs are key to get the texture right. I used Jamaican jerk specialty seasoning. Handed them over to my papa who is born and raised there. And He said they taste like home...few tips. Sprinkle the pastry before cooking with curry. Add orange peppers or scotch bonnet...and onions. And the jamaican jerk sauce. Only a teaspoon. Its was spicy out the bottle...but perfect when added to meat...bought a rolling pin..just to make more:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
You need to season the meat with Jamaican jerk seasoning. Measure in teaspoons: 2thyme, 2 pepper, 5 garlic, 1 chili powder, 2-3 cayenne, 1 cinnamon, 1/2 ground cloves. I used refrigerated pie crust. Make a large calzone type patty. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
The Jamaican Beef Patties were okay. I felt spices over powered each other and was not satisfied with the way the dough turn-out. I tried beef patties in the past and did this not think this recipe came close in flavor to what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Tastes nothing like a Jamaican beef patty. What a disappointment. Islandflav has the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
the meat filing is great but the dough wasn't tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Too rich and pretty boring. Not worth the unhealthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I love them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used Kitchen Bouquet Browning and seasoning mix instead of the Maggi liquid seasoning since I didn't have it on hand. I think that does make a difference in flavor. I ate one straight out of the oven! Both of the seasonings should be in the spice isle of the store. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I could not find the Maggi liquid seasoning so I left it out. The meat was really chalky and tasteless. I doubt I will try these again, even tho it was probably my own fault that they didn't turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States