Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Made this recipe and it was absolutely perfect - just the way my grandmother used to make. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great dish. I left out the beans but do think it would have been better with them (if that's possible) even if I subbed green beans for the texture. There were no scotch bonnets at my local grocer so used a half habernero (seedless) with great results, it still had some real heat! Folks with milder pallets could probably do away with the pepeer all together but I do love the spice. Serve with rice for a great cold weather comfort dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I used an old pressure cooker without a gauge and it could have used another half hour. But I finished it on the stovetop and added carrots and other root veggies. Nice dark brown, spicy gravy and the meat was tender and rich. Great use of my pressure cooker! UPDATE: The pot came close to running out of liquid--heat up too high? Next time I'd add 2 cups liquid. And I did have some canned fava beans this time--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was excellent. I'll definitely use it again. I couldn't find broad beans so I substituted green beans and I ommitted the chile pepper. I used a crock pot on high for the 6 hours and we ate every bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Fantastic! Incredibly rich flavours. I made mine in a slow cooker and then served it over a bed of polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I LOVE IT ,ITS A GOOD CHANGE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is some authentic Jamaican Oxtail. The Slow cooker worked perfectly! I followed everything in this recipe except I washed the oxtail with vinager and lemon juice first and then rinsed clean. I also used a tsp of caramel browning when frying the oxtail at the beginning. I absolutley recommend this recipe my friends and family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
great recipe. i left out the scotch bonnet (don't think it needs the heat)and added a touch of browning and bbq sauce. did it in the crockpot on high for 4 hours and finished it in the oven for 1.5hrs, added canned broad beans (next time I will just add dried in the beginning) with added baby carrots. along with my homemade rice and peas this was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
WOW! Flavorful and delicious! The only changes I made were using a few dashes of scotch bonnet pepper hot sauce (didn't have a pepper on hand) and I used dried thyme instead of fresh. When cooking the oxtail in the pan, make sure there are no onions, etc. with it otherwise the onions will burn. Instead of a pressure cooker, I cooked everything in my slow cooker on high for 6 hours - the meat was falling off the bone! Simply tender and delicious. I would omit the beans next time I make this - just didn't need it. I served them over hot cooked rice. Will DEFINITELY be making this delicious meal again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayViolet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This recipe is great. I have been making oxtails in a regular stew pot for years (too cheap to buy a pressure cooker) and they just never came out tender enough. I tried it in my slow cooker for the first time using this recipe and it turned out great. I added potatoes, carrots and dumplings to the pot 1 hour before it was finished. The scotch bonnet I used was a lot stronger than I expected so next time I would just use half instead of a whole one. But it was still fabulous and falling off the bone. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States