Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is some authentic Jamaican Oxtail. The Slow cooker worked perfectly! I followed everything in this recipe except I washed the oxtail with vinager and lemon juice first and then rinsed clean. I also used a tsp of caramel browning when frying the oxtail at the beginning. I absolutley recommend this recipe my friends and family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
What Jamaicans call "broad beans" in actually large cooked butter beans. So this is what must be used if you want to be authentically Jamaican. Either have a cup of butter beans (large dried limas) you have previously soaked and cooked to use in this recipe or use a (15 oz.) can of large butter beans 1 tsp. of pimento berries is far too much, and will overpower the flavor of the entire dish! Try 1/2 tsp. instead. Lastly if you do not like peppery hot food, substitute 1/2 cup chopped bell pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
WOW! Flavorful and delicious! The only changes I made were using a few dashes of scotch bonnet pepper hot sauce (didn't have a pepper on hand) and I used dried thyme instead of fresh. When cooking the oxtail in the pan, make sure there are no onions, etc. with it otherwise the onions will burn. Instead of a pressure cooker, I cooked everything in my slow cooker on high for 6 hours - the meat was falling off the bone! Simply tender and delicious. I would omit the beans next time I make this - just didn't need it. I served them over hot cooked rice. Will DEFINITELY be making this delicious meal again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayViolet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
The method & ingredients are good. My wife is Jamaican - but she never uses Allspice in Oxtail - Stew Peas, yes & cloves in Ham. There are two important differences with her recipe, however - first 1 pound of Oxtail does not go far - cook at least 2 Lbs. Secondly she always adds up to 1/2 bottle of Red Wine - usually a Spanish Rioja after the Pressure Cooking Stage. You also may not want to thicken the gravy with Cornstarch - it's a question of taste & texture. Fayva Beans - Lima beans - Butter Beans - Broad Beans are more or less the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This recipe is great. I have been making oxtails in a regular stew pot for years (too cheap to buy a pressure cooker) and they just never came out tender enough. I tried it in my slow cooker for the first time using this recipe and it turned out great. I added potatoes, carrots and dumplings to the pot 1 hour before it was finished. The scotch bonnet I used was a lot stronger than I expected so next time I would just use half instead of a whole one. But it was still fabulous and falling off the bone. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
great recipe. i left out the scotch bonnet (don't think it needs the heat)and added a touch of browning and bbq sauce. did it in the crockpot on high for 4 hours and finished it in the oven for 1.5hrs, added canned broad beans (next time I will just add dried in the beginning) with added baby carrots. along with my homemade rice and peas this was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I LOVE IT ,ITS A GOOD CHANGE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Flavorful! Did not cook in slow cooker or pressure cooker though, cooked on stove top for 2 hours -- fork tender. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This recipe is a keeper!! The oxtails came out delicious and so tender. I rated this recipe 4 stars because I made some adjustments. I bought 2 lbs of oxtail, so I obviously doubled the ingredients. Sine I didn't have scotch bonnet pepper, I used a chopped green pepper. I don't have a pressure cooker, so after browning the meat, I added 5 cups of water to the same pot and simmered for 3 hours, stirring occasionally. Then I added the cornstarch and beans and cooked for another 5 minutes until the sauce thickened. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I made this in the crockpot as directed and it came out so wonderfully tender, falling off the bone. Too afraid to use the scotch bonnet. I marinated the meat in the other ingredients two days in advance so the flavors could set in, but I still ended up having to add more seasonings while it cooked. In the end it was very good. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States