Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I highly recommend this recipe!! It is great! I also recommend using a pressure cooker (they are now much safer than older models). Using a pressure cooker, this was a one pot meal. I changed the recipe ever so slightly because I was a little confused with the instructions. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I browned the oxtail on both sides in the pressure cooker. I added some oxtail seasoning I found in the grocery store to the meat. After browning, I removed the oxtail from the cooker, and sauteed the onions and green peppers in the pressure cooker and then added the garlic, ginger (bottled), soy sauce, thyme, salt and pepper. I then returned the oxtails to the pressure cooker, added the water, and cooked the meat under pressure for 25 minutes. I followed the recipe exactly from this point on. I really like the taste of the butter beans (thanks to the person who explained that broad beans are butter beans). Yum! The meat was tender, the gravy was great, and it didn't take 6+ hours to complete:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Husband has made this twice and we LOVE it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randerson26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great authentic taste. I will try the pressure cooker next time instead of the slow cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTI4483

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe was very good. I had 3lbs of oxtail meat so I tripled the recipe, however, I think the ginger root was too overpowering with 3 tsp of it but they were falling off the bone. Next time I'll just double the spices with the same about of meat. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef_Val

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
VERY authentic and delicious! I used a slow cooker because the pressure cooker was broken. I didn't add the berries and I used regular bottle of hot sauce instead of the scotch bonnet and it still tastes good. I also doubled the recipe because I had 2lbs of oxtail from the local Caribbean and Asian Supermarket. I also didn't have cornstarch so I used 2 tbsps of flour instead. All in all very good recipe. More people need to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnerchick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These are excellent! I used browning too to brown the meat. I did use the beans... I like these with the beans (adds a little something extra). I used powdered ginger and dried thyme. I also used a mix of beef stock and water. I think it'd be fine without the stock (the recipe has water, not stock, it was almost too salty with the stock). I will be making this again and again. My new favorite way to eat oxtails. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
this is an outstanding recipe, i went with the slow cooked option and was blown away. the only change i have made is replacing the 1 and a half cup of water with one cup of good beef stock and half a cup of dry sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Luton, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Thanks for the recipe. I've made oxtails several times and this is truly the first time they had that authentic Jamaican taste. I made a few changes because I didn't have certain spices. I used ground Ginger and allspice....I don't like spicy food but I took another reviewers advice and used a green pepper instead of scotch bonnet pepper. I forgot the corn starch but that was okay because the starch from the butter beans made a nice gravy. Also, I use browning to give it that rich brown look. Lastly, I don't have a pressure cooker and didn't want to use my crock pot so they were cooked on the stovetop for a few hours on a very low flame. They came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I recently made this recipe for an office potluck and made a few modifications such as using 1 teaspoon of Apple Pie spice (that has cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice) and 1 teaspoon of powdered ginger (instead of the ginger root and all-spice berries) I also used Browing Sauce rather than Soy Sauce And Butter Beans instead of Fava beans... Lastly, I used the crock pot and just set it and forget it! It was absolutely fabulous! Rave reviews at my job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I'm sorry, I'm not use to rating recipes so low but I honestly have to say this we did not care for this at all. I've never used Oxtail before and thought it would be fun to try something new so I bought Beef Oxtail and made this recipe and was very disappointed. I never realized how Little of meat is on the bones and it's soo fatty and expensive! Will never buy that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States