Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe is great! I made a couple of changes to suit my taste. I seasoned two pounds of oxtail a few hours before cooking. I browned the oxtail before throwing it in the slow cooker. I added fingerling potatoes, baby carrots,poblano pepper,and a can of drained stewed tomatoes. I cooked it on low for 7 hours and then stirred in the cornstarch mixture and let it simmer for another hour. It was tender and so good. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
this is soo delishhh! makes tons of leftovr liquid so good to serve with somethings starchy to soak up. oxtails lets out a lot of oily fat as it cooks so I like to skim the top a lot. also not all scotch bonnets peppers are hot, they are the luck of the draw so if you are brave give lil nibbles to find the right ones for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 954Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I tried this dish out for the first time last night and it was delicious, the whole family loved it !! We put it in the slow cooker on low for 10 hrs. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was incredible! I followed the recipe except I used a crock pot because I don't have a slow cooker, I left out the scotch bonnet chile pepper, and the allspices berries because I couldn't find them. I added the beans and the cornstarch after 5 hours of cooking it on high in the crock pot. After another hour, it was done. My husband, who was not a big fan of oxtail, declared these to be the best oxtail he's ever had. Will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parisia Bates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I have made oxtail for a long time and wanted to try something else and tried this recipe, I droped the beans and cornstarch then and added celery,onions and carrots for the last cooking and it is great.. Maybe should have tried it the way it was intended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
The method & ingredients are good. My wife is Jamaican - but she never uses Allspice in Oxtail - Stew Peas, yes & cloves in Ham. There are two important differences with her recipe, however - first 1 pound of Oxtail does not go far - cook at least 2 Lbs. Secondly she always adds up to 1/2 bottle of Red Wine - usually a Spanish Rioja after the Pressure Cooking Stage. You also may not want to thicken the gravy with Cornstarch - it's a question of taste & texture. Fayva Beans - Lima beans - Butter Beans - Broad Beans are more or less the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLAUDIA4
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
It was great but a whole scotch bonnet pepper was too much- will use a third next time! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I wasn't able to pull it off...However,I did scale to 40 so that could be it.. Thx for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This recipe is a keeper!! The oxtails came out delicious and so tender. I rated this recipe 4 stars because I made some adjustments. I bought 2 lbs of oxtail, so I obviously doubled the ingredients. Sine I didn't have scotch bonnet pepper, I used a chopped green pepper. I don't have a pressure cooker, so after browning the meat, I added 5 cups of water to the same pot and simmered for 3 hours, stirring occasionally. Then I added the cornstarch and beans and cooked for another 5 minutes until the sauce thickened. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Phenomenal recipe! I'm Jamaican, and i've been jonesing for some traditional oxtail for some time now. This was my first time ever making oxtail, and it was absolutely DELICIOUS! Definitely authentic Jamaican oxtail and broad beans ('butter beans').
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States