Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I can't begin to tell you how tasty this dish was. My husband, who is from the islands, enjoyed this dish very much. I am looking forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheshell76
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
DELICIOUS, I finally learned how to make authentic Jamaican style oxtails. This recipe should be followed as is the first time and then changes can be made after that. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Wow, but try freezing and reheating and it only gets more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Very Easy and good recipe. I did it exactly as stated. My pressure cooker cover was not sealed properly so I had to add more water and cook a little longer. My pepper burst so it was a little hot, I am going to take it out half way through cooking next time. All in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I added mushroom soy sauce and put this in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Flavorful! Did not cook in slow cooker or pressure cooker though, cooked on stove top for 2 hours -- fork tender. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Pretty dang good. My husband went nuts over this. The flavors are very different and exciting, and being able to make this in a slow cooker made it even better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is our favorite recipe on this site!! Really great, unique flavor. We double the recipe and use ground thyme and allspice. Also, we simmer this for two hours rather than using a pressure cooker. Just be sure the oxtail is covered in liquid or else it will dry out (you can boil off the excess liquid later). Highly recommend you try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I've made this for my friends and family and everyone raves about it! I couldn't find broad beans, but a Jamaican woman told me to substitute them with Butter beans and I think the color looks better with the butter beans added. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Followed the recipe as indicated and it came out perfect. I highly recommend this if your are looking for an authentic taste. We did learn there are 2 types of oxtail to get, a larger diameter one and a smaller one, so we bought both. Although the larger ones have more meat on them, the meate os difficult to get out of the crevices, so I would suggest getting the smaller ones to make it easier at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States