Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Flavorful! Did not cook in slow cooker or pressure cooker though, cooked on stove top for 2 hours -- fork tender. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Pretty dang good. My husband went nuts over this. The flavors are very different and exciting, and being able to make this in a slow cooker made it even better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is our favorite recipe on this site!! Really great, unique flavor. We double the recipe and use ground thyme and allspice. Also, we simmer this for two hours rather than using a pressure cooker. Just be sure the oxtail is covered in liquid or else it will dry out (you can boil off the excess liquid later). Highly recommend you try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I've made this for my friends and family and everyone raves about it! I couldn't find broad beans, but a Jamaican woman told me to substitute them with Butter beans and I think the color looks better with the butter beans added. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Followed the recipe as indicated and it came out perfect. I highly recommend this if your are looking for an authentic taste. We did learn there are 2 types of oxtail to get, a larger diameter one and a smaller one, so we bought both. Although the larger ones have more meat on them, the meate os difficult to get out of the crevices, so I would suggest getting the smaller ones to make it easier at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Excellent recipe. I also threw in soya sauce and mrs. dash (yellow top). I cooked in oven until tender ... aprox. 6 hours. My kids has not acquired a taste for cabbage so i made string beans soaked in garlic. Mmmm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was so delicious! It was like when my grandmother used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
A-MA-ZING! I love the recipe and introduced it to my Fire station. The guys had never had oxtail and now say their mouths water every time they see them at the grocery. I cooked them in the crock pot on high and the meat fell off the bone as soon as you picked it up. Also, cut back on the allspice berries at least by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I didn't follow this recipe exactly, but I did use all the important parts. Using allspice and ginger just sent this over the top. Scotch bonnet peppers won't fly with my wimps so I omitted it and served sriracha on the side so everybody could control the heat. Thanks, sunflowerBirmingham, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe is great! I made a couple of changes to suit my taste. I seasoned two pounds of oxtail a few hours before cooking. I browned the oxtail before throwing it in the slow cooker. I added fingerling potatoes, baby carrots,poblano pepper,and a can of drained stewed tomatoes. I cooked it on low for 7 hours and then stirred in the cornstarch mixture and let it simmer for another hour. It was tender and so good. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States