Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Best recipe I have found yet and I have tried a lot. I did change just a few things: used 2 packages of oxtail (about 2lbs) , added 2 red bell peppers, forgot to add the garlic (wasn't needed though), added beef bouillon cubes (4), caribbean oxtail seasoning, no beans, and powdered ginger. I also used a slow cooker for about 6 hrs. Everything else was the same as in the original recipe. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GiJo_Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My family loved this recipe! It was a deviation from my usual way of making oxtails. But I did stick with my learned way of using butter beans. The corn starch was a great thickening agent which I had never even considered. I will definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Great, delicious, and authentic! This recipe was perfect! I used 4 lbs of oxtail and doubled the recipe. I used a pressure cooker and happy I did. Nothing bad to say, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I cooked it for 6.5 hours on my stovetop on 3 (dial goes from 1 to 10). It came out PERFECT! I used to get oxtail at a Jamaican restaurant, and I think this might actually be better. I did leave out the beans, and it's really excellent over rice. Make sure you grab the bones with your fingers and suck the gooey stuff off the ends! That's the best part :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Farnsworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I love this recipe!! I've been looking for it so long. A former co-worker made this dish and would not tell me how she did it. Well, now I know! It was just right, the first time I tried it. I changed a few things, though. I sliced the ginger root and garlic. Also, I used a single habanero pepper,and thickened the sauce with flour, instead. Turned out great. I'll be making this a regular dish in my home :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I'm not a fan of beans so I didn't make them but the ox tails turned out perfectly! I only made them for myself this time, but I can't wait to turn somebody else on to this deliciousness!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Really good recipe. I had 4 pds. of oxtail and wanted to prepare two different types of oxtail for a get-together. I used my family recipe with half the oxtails and this recipe on the remaining half. I totally forgot to add the beans, nonetheless it turned out great. I prepared this recipe stove-top in a stockpot. It finished in 3 hours, while my crock-pot recipe took 5 1/2 hrs. I cooked them side-by-side and these were just as tender as the ones in the crock-pot. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elexsia
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I'm from the Dominican Republic and my husband is American. He has Jamaican friends and he introduced me to the oxtail. I've made this recipe a few times and it always comes out delicious. I made a few changes: we don't like spicy food so I put in the pepper just for a few minutes and take out of the pot. I also add 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of catchup. I use a regular pot and just let it cook cover on low for a few hours, until the meat falls off the bone. My husband doesn't like any kind of beans, so I don't use the fava beans. I serve it over coconut rice. My husband and kids said that the recipe comes out better than the one at restaurant ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elexsia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonao, Monseñor Nouel, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Our family loved this recipe! We cooked it in a slow cooker instead of a pressure cooker and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
i didn't have a pressure cooker so i just cooked it for about 2 hours and they were very tender. i felt like they needed a bit more flavor and honestly i don't think they tasted as good as some of the restaurant style ones at all. they needed to be more spice and even thou i added extra it still didn't but they were tasty . i didn't put the cornstarch in them seeing as i cooked them for so long and the sauce did thicken up without it . i don't know if i would make them again but in the end they were good .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States