Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I love this recipe!! I've been looking for it so long. A former co-worker made this dish and would not tell me how she did it. Well, now I know! It was just right, the first time I tried it. I changed a few things, though. I sliced the ginger root and garlic. Also, I used a single habanero pepper,and thickened the sauce with flour, instead. Turned out great. I'll be making this a regular dish in my home :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I'm not a fan of beans so I didn't make them but the ox tails turned out perfectly! I only made them for myself this time, but I can't wait to turn somebody else on to this deliciousness!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Really good recipe. I had 4 pds. of oxtail and wanted to prepare two different types of oxtail for a get-together. I used my family recipe with half the oxtails and this recipe on the remaining half. I totally forgot to add the beans, nonetheless it turned out great. I prepared this recipe stove-top in a stockpot. It finished in 3 hours, while my crock-pot recipe took 5 1/2 hrs. I cooked them side-by-side and these were just as tender as the ones in the crock-pot. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elexsia
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I'm from the Dominican Republic and my husband is American. He has Jamaican friends and he introduced me to the oxtail. I've made this recipe a few times and it always comes out delicious. I made a few changes: we don't like spicy food so I put in the pepper just for a few minutes and take out of the pot. I also add 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of catchup. I use a regular pot and just let it cook cover on low for a few hours, until the meat falls off the bone. My husband doesn't like any kind of beans, so I don't use the fava beans. I serve it over coconut rice. My husband and kids said that the recipe comes out better than the one at restaurant ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elexsia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonao, Monseñor Nouel, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Our family loved this recipe! We cooked it in a slow cooker instead of a pressure cooker and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
i didn't have a pressure cooker so i just cooked it for about 2 hours and they were very tender. i felt like they needed a bit more flavor and honestly i don't think they tasted as good as some of the restaurant style ones at all. they needed to be more spice and even thou i added extra it still didn't but they were tasty . i didn't put the cornstarch in them seeing as i cooked them for so long and the sauce did thicken up without it . i don't know if i would make them again but in the end they were good .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Wowzer!!!! okay, I pretty much followed the directions only omitting the Thyme and Chili Pepper. I substituted the chili pepper with 2 tbsp. of Sambal Oelek chili sauce. Also, I cooked 2 lbs of oxtails as opposed to 1 lb. I love the meat!!! I marinated the oxtails in vinegar and lemon juice for about 2 hours, then seasoned the meat before adding it to the skillet with 4 green onions, 1/2 regular onion, 2 tbsp. of garlic and a tbsp. of ginger. I just added more because I had more meat. I fried them in the skillet for 20 min. with soy sauce and red wine vinegar.(the onions did not burn as another commentor stated) Then I dropped the oxtails with sauted ingredients into the crock pot and let them cook on low overnight (11 hours total) . I let the Great Northern beans soak overnight then got up in the morning and boiled them for about an hour, removed them from the heat for about an hour and returned them to the fire on low for about 2 hours, they were almost done. I dropped them into the crockpot with the oxtails that had practically simmered off the bone and allowed all ingredients to cook another 2 hours adding 1 tbsp of cornstarch, salt, 1/2 tsp.cayenne pepper, 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1 tsp. onion powder, as it was tasting bland and 4 tbsp of brown sugar. OMG, you cannot believe the kick in this mix. It does make a difference what you choose to cook in , crock pot or pressure cooker and the beans cook much faster with the over night soak method. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toosxz4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TSmith81
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The only thing I changed were the beans I used butter beans instead. We didn't have fava beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The ginger made the dish more Asian than I was used to tasting. I will never use ginger in this dish, it is perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I must have screwed this up somehow. I added more than 1 1/2 cups of water before I turned on my slow cooker, since I didn't want the water to evaporate. I also doubled the amount of spices, but it didn't have any flavor. I'll have to try it one more time with less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAVON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States