Jamaican Jerk Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Forget the servings converter. Use the numbers in teaspoons instead of cups. Still makes enough to fill a spare spice jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This seasoning blend was fantastic on chicken thighs! I reduced the recipe by substituting the word "cups" with "teaspoons" and then cut those amounts in half. I had enough to fully season 4 chicken thighs and some leftover. I thought the amount of cayenne was quite a bit so I reduced that (from 4 to 3) and it was perfect spicy for me who likes some "zip." If you don't do spicy foods well, I'd take it down even further. This paired amazing with a side of rice made with coconut milk and with chunks of pineapple/mango/banana. A tropical dinner of sorts! I will be making this again & think it would go great on pork chops also. I didn't have time to marinate either, so that's something to try for me in the future (still good without!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
CONVERSION to manageable portion: This will fill a 4.5 oz shaker container: 2 1/4 t allspice; 1/4 c salt; 3 scant T garlic powder; 2 T sugar; 1 1/2 t chile powder (ancho powder works great!); 3/4 t ground cloves; 1 T thyme leaves; 1 T black pepper; 1 1/2 t cinnamon; and then there's the cayenne. The recipe as written in this portion calls for 2 T which is way, way, way too much IMHO. I use 2 t rather than 2 T which works out great - it has a kick but won't kill you or overpower the recipe. I mix in a baggie, then pour into empty shaker container (see my picture in an old lemon pepper container).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina B in KC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lake Waukomis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Had decent flavor. I used it on chicken breast. Tried to copy a blackened jerk chicken breast dish that I like at a bar that I go to frequently. The seasoning could not duplicate the taste I was looking for. There was too much of a cinnamon flavor coming out in the meat. Didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This seasoning is assume :). I just made it and cut the serving size dwn to 50. I used it to pan fry some boneless chkn thighs to top my salad. Mmmmmmmm!!!!! Just like the other reviews BE CAREFUL WITH THE CAYENNE. Put a SMALL portion in then taste and just add to your liking. And I also did not use the chipotle chilli powder. Its great w/o it. I plan on rubbing my thanksgiving turkey down with this before I fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darinnia Bynam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
i made this for use in an experimental recipe. My son is a huge jerk fan; "hotter the better" type. His doesn't smoke me but all the rest of the famdamily can't go there with us. So following the reviews i too made small changes: in place of all the salt i used half and the other half onion powder to cut back on the sodium (wife's sensitive), as for the hot i used equal amounts of chipotle, chili, and cumin to match the measure called for. It is truly awesome and hits the profile accurately without being overbearing anywhere for all involved. It proved to be "da bomb" on bacon as part of the experimental dish, was great on ribeyes. We will try it on a B/C chicken this weekend. OBTW, if you want to know how a spice blend will taste sprinkle a small amount on a slice of cucumber and insert it spice side up, chew. If it doesn't overpower or seems light repeat putting the spice side down on your tongue. That will give you a fair assessment of how a dry rub will taste. Smoke will intensify the flavor but you will know real quick if you like it or not. Thanks for the recipe and y'all for the input, it was a great help with a great recipe. Thanks again to all for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I just tried this recipe. Didn't have any chipotle chiles so I substituted mole powder, and I left out the garlic powder. Then I halved the cayenne. Added the powder generously to boneless chicken breast and cooked on a hot grill. Everyone loved it except my roommate, who said it was still too hot. When you smell the powder, the clove is overpowering, though once it cooks the flavors are well-balanced. I made a dry rub that called for more sugar recently and it was really too much. This one definitely gets the combination of salty, sweet and spicy in the right proportions. I have leftover powder, so I'll definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made small amount of this rub, scaled back for a couple of grilled rib-eyes to try it on. Marinated for 20 minutes,wonderful flavor and aroma. Had a bit left over, rubbed on some chicken breast tenders, marinated half hour while I cut up some veggies for a stir fry. My 5 yrs old grandson ate two helpings, stating it was the bestest chicken ever... Good enough for me, going to try it on a roast chicken today, thanks bunches. I keep a small bottle in the spice cabinet now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
i have and it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Excellent results! I made it for the crew at the firehouse last night and it received rave reviews. I also made a jerk inspired barbecue sauce that was used to glaze the chicken during the last bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Cooking with Cayenne Pepper

Learn all about spicy cayenne pepper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States