Jamaican Jerk Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
i have made this several times and instead of the word cup i use the word teaspoon and i get wonderful results..... it depends how much you need to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I cut this recipe back to about 2 servings and it was still a lot. I originally made this rub with plain chili powder because that's all I had. It was OK but not great. I bought some chipotle seasoning and added it to my mix and that made it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Great on wings! Made these for the Mayweather v Maidana II fight. Like Drake said, "0 to 100 real quick!" They were gone; with a lot of cleared sinus too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian Campbell
Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This is excellent. I did reduce the recipe to two servings and used splenda in place of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Forget the servings converter. Use the numbers in teaspoons instead of cups. Still makes enough to fill a spare spice jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie Stevens
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This seasoning blend was fantastic on chicken thighs! I reduced the recipe by substituting the word "cups" with "teaspoons" and then cut those amounts in half. I had enough to fully season 4 chicken thighs and some leftover. I thought the amount of cayenne was quite a bit so I reduced that (from 4 to 3) and it was perfect spicy for me who likes some "zip." If you don't do spicy foods well, I'd take it down even further. This paired amazing with a side of rice made with coconut milk and with chunks of pineapple/mango/banana. A tropical dinner of sorts! I will be making this again & think it would go great on pork chops also. I didn't have time to marinate either, so that's something to try for me in the future (still good without!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
CONVERSION to manageable portion: This will fill a 4.5 oz shaker container: 2 1/4 t allspice; 1/4 c salt; 3 scant T garlic powder; 2 T sugar; 1 1/2 t chile powder (ancho powder works great!); 3/4 t ground cloves; 1 T thyme leaves; 1 T black pepper; 1 1/2 t cinnamon; and then there's the cayenne. The recipe as written in this portion calls for 2 T which is way, way, way too much IMHO. I use 2 t rather than 2 T which works out great - it has a kick but won't kill you or overpower the recipe. I mix in a baggie, then pour into empty shaker container (see my picture in an old lemon pepper container).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Beer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lake Waukomis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Had decent flavor. I used it on chicken breast. Tried to copy a blackened jerk chicken breast dish that I like at a bar that I go to frequently. The seasoning could not duplicate the taste I was looking for. There was too much of a cinnamon flavor coming out in the meat. Didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlitos Way

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This seasoning is assume :). I just made it and cut the serving size dwn to 50. I used it to pan fry some boneless chkn thighs to top my salad. Mmmmmmmm!!!!! Just like the other reviews BE CAREFUL WITH THE CAYENNE. Put a SMALL portion in then taste and just add to your liking. And I also did not use the chipotle chilli powder. Its great w/o it. I plan on rubbing my thanksgiving turkey down with this before I fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darinnia Bynam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
i made this for use in an experimental recipe. My son is a huge jerk fan; "hotter the better" type. His doesn't smoke me but all the rest of the famdamily can't go there with us. So following the reviews i too made small changes: in place of all the salt i used half and the other half onion powder to cut back on the sodium (wife's sensitive), as for the hot i used equal amounts of chipotle, chili, and cumin to match the measure called for. It is truly awesome and hits the profile accurately without being overbearing anywhere for all involved. It proved to be "da bomb" on bacon as part of the experimental dish, was great on ribeyes. We will try it on a B/C chicken this weekend. OBTW, if you want to know how a spice blend will taste sprinkle a small amount on a slice of cucumber and insert it spice side up, chew. If it doesn't overpower or seems light repeat putting the spice side down on your tongue. That will give you a fair assessment of how a dry rub will taste. Smoke will intensify the flavor but you will know real quick if you like it or not. Thanks for the recipe and y'all for the input, it was a great help with a great recipe. Thanks again to all for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Cooking with Cayenne Pepper

Learn all about spicy cayenne pepper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States