Jamaican Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I found this recipe to be very good used in the crock pot. Instead of using the mixture as a marinade, just put it in the crock pot with either the chicken as indicated or with a good pork shoulder. The flavors REALLY come out in the slow cooking process and gives a very aromatic and great tasting jerk flavor. Note though, I used one habanero pepper. If you really like it hot, add more, but know that you get the full effect from the pepper in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
POOR TASTE; LONG TIME TO MAKE. VERY POOR COMPARED TO AUTHENTIC JAMAICAN CHICKEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
Excellent recipe for traditional jerk seasoning. The most important step is to marinate. The longer the better! Dont forget to get the jerk effect slow roast over coals and hardwood such as pimento or hickory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This is possibly the best recipe I've ever found on allrecipes. I make it with the barbequed pineapple recipe and the calypso beans and rice recipe both found on this site. Don't overcook the meat--and the longer you marinate, the better it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
very good jerk recipe, especially for beginers.....very spicy which is good, not as many flavors as in a more traditional jamaican jerk recipe....maybe substitute a bit of the water with soy sauce or woestschire sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Very good! I omitted the water and just marinated it in the paste with the juice of only one lime. I also only used one habanero and it was plenty spicy. I served it with the calypso beans and rice like everyone suggested...what a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This is so good. I used canned jalepeno pepper instead because habanero is not available here. Instead of a whole cup of water, I only used a bit to dilute the paste so it's easier to marinade the chicken. I also threaded the chicken pieces on skewers to make grilling easier. Went really well on a bed of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
this is a favorite of myself and my boyfriend. i have used the marinade/paste in many ways. chicken in a pan, roasted chicken thighs, ect. this recipe compares to one at my favorite restaurant. i love it!!! i usually serve plantains and rice with this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This recipe simply did not fit my taste. It was tasty, but ended up tasting too much like ginger, and not much like jerk chicken. It might be better fitting for the right taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
While the preparation for this one is longer than most I tend to make it is well worth it. My husband and I love it! I used several small jalepenos instead of habanero becuase the local store was out of them and they worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States