Jamaican Fried Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I had a similar problem to one of the other reviewers, I found the dough was far too dry using the measurements provided here (converted to metric and serving size changed to 2.) However this was easily fixed as I was adding water slowly so just continued a spoon at a time until the dough was stretchy, rather than crumbly. It might be helpful if you gave a bit more detail as to the required texture of the dough to give us a better idea of what it should feel/look like. Also, how big are these "patties" supposed to be? I intended to make mine into 4 dumplings but when I put the first one in, it browned far too quickly (medium heat on an electric hob) and so was burnt on the outside before it was even close to being cooked on the inside. I lumped the remaining mixture into one bigger dumpling and reduced the heat so inevitably it took much longer than the suggested 3 mins/side. But this is the best attempt so far, after trying loads of recipes. I'll keep fiddling with the details and see how it goes. I love the layout of this site and the conversations, so practical! But it would be a massive help if you gave more details eg - the dough should look/feel... (saying it should be "firm" doesn't really help much tbh) ; the oil is the right temperature when...; makes x number of dumplings rather than "serves x number of people" (maybe others automatically assume that "serves 2" means "makes 2 dumplings" but not necessarily) Thanks all for the comments and advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Used a deep fryer, they came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Not sure what happened, but I followed the recipe and my flour mixture was super dry... Just a bowl of crumbs, pretty much. I had to double the water to make them workable, and then they still had a dry/bland texture and taste after I fried them. Womp womp :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I tried this and it was GREAT!! I followed the recipe exactly...love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
these remind me of the yummy dumplings we ate with our fish in the caymans. i find i always have to add at least double the water to make them come together and next time i might try adding a bit more butter. they taste great though and they take us right back to the beach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Followed recipe exactly and they came out wonderful! My daughter loved them, and she is not a huge dumpling fan! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
when i talked to my mom after i posted my initial review she said this is what the true Jamaican dumpling tastes like i was so surprised she said this recipe was a keeper and the distinct baking powder taste i love is from a bad recipe! This recipe is a keeper but i needed more water almost a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
i agree the key to these is to make them flat. i served these with a whole bunch of Jamaican foods and they were delicious. super flaky. crunchy. great texture. these are great for parties and holidays and all but not for every day healthy eating. lol. everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
If you are serving these w/ ackee & Saltfish, they are traditionally boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
The true Jamaican name for them is "Johnny cakes" My cook there made them for every meal for me. I also loved Jamaican Meat pies (recipe here in Allrecipes) and fried plantains or fried bananas (I loved both)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCarma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States