Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was soooo good! The only thing I would add is an egg to help hold it together which I'll try next time I make it. I served it with some sliced mango which really made it tasty. Also, I used a jalepeno instead of habanero. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I am sitting here eating THE VERY best veggie burger ever! Thank you for the recipe! I used brown basmati, and homemade whole wheat breadcrumbs. I also added two eggs, and coated with cornmeal for a very nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These had an unusual taste for a veggie burger but we enjoyed them. I give it a 4 because I had trouble with the patties staying together. I did substitute ground oats for the bread crumbs which maybe could have caused the problem. If you are looking for something different yet east, this recipe is great. If you are looking for something resembling more of a "traditional veggie burger" this may not be the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Awesome tasting veggie burgers, better than any we've tasted before! I needed to add agg to bind this together although the recipe doesn't call for it. Three vegetarian friends have placed this recipe on their FAVORITES list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
These were great. I would definitely make them again. My young daughter was not crazy about the onions but otherwise a very flavorful veggie burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This was a great burger. Put cheese and salsa on the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Not sure what the last person did wrong but these burgers formed excellent patties - so good that we were even able to BBQ them which was a welcome change from frying. The only thing I changed in the recipe was that I used 2 cans of black beans and used Basmati brown rice. The taste was awesome - not too hot but enough to know you were eating something with heat. I will definitely be making these again. The recipe also make a lot more than six patties which is OK because I'm looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cold Spring, New York, USA
Living In: Cosby, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Maybe this recipe would be good if it actually formed patties, but when I followed the instructions, I ended up with a crumbly mixture of breadcrumbs, rice, and beans that could in no way be formed into patties. I added water and oil and attempted to fry it that way, but it fell apart in the pan. The crumbles that I tasted had great seasoning, but the recipe needs some serious alteration to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I both make and buy a lot of vegetarian burgers, and this recipe is the best by far! I've made these twice now for my family - once on buns with melted cheese, lettuce, sauteed onion and tomato, and once as just patties with our favorite Jerk sauce, sweet peppers, and onions to complete a Caribbean themed meal - both were complete hits! Having small children I substituted the habanero with a jalapeno, and also used a dash of cinnamon instead of the allspice, as I didn't have any on hand. I made the recipe for 8, using two cans of drained and rinsed black beans. The fresh ginger is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-69 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States