Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I use a bit more beans and a little less rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is a favorite at our house! I like to add a little sweet potato or carrot YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was my first time making a veggie burger ,and these were quite delicious. It's definitely nothing like a traditional veggie burger. I used a food processor to break down the beans, then mixed them with the other ingredients. I used brown rice instead of white. I didn't have to use an egg, and had no trouble with them falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Makes a lot. I cut this recipe in half and made 5 small or 4 large burgers. These tasted great but wanted to let viewers know that the texture is like a soft burger. You won't get the same feel as a boca burger. I'm vegan and served this with a thick slice of tomato, lettuce, vegenaise which is a cholesterol free mayo topping you can get at Whole Foods or Trader Joes or even Publix. Try to get a thick big whole wheat bun to serve with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorybixler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Great burger!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brandenburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
All seven family members ate them and asked for more...that is a 5-star recipe in my book. I did omit peppers (I know misses the point of the recipe, but the kids won't eat spicy food), added extra of the seasonings to taste. Working into patties just fine (the little ones loved helping with that, since it was a bit messy). Fried up great, no egg needed. Definitely a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I believe this recipe could make T-Rex less of a carnivore. I made this exactly as stated and cannot think of any alterations to make. I used a 3"x1/2" round cutter to form "burgers" and served it as a sandwich burger with the typical condiments. Using the cutter, I had ten servings and put the leftovers in the freezer for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I'm giving these five stars because I'm confident that they would be delicious and perfect if I hadn't messed them up. :o) I used sticky short-grain rice because it's all I had and I think that made them more dense and gooey than they're meant to be, so they didn't cook through all the way. Med-High was also too high for my stove, so people might consider that if yours seem to be burning before they're cooked through. I didn't have allspice or nutmeg, but I put cinnamon, cloves and a bit of black pepper in their place and they turned out great flavor-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were delicious! Like several of the other chefs I added egg to my mix. My partner and I really enjoy making Veggie Patties and have tried several of our own creations,and this recipe served as a great base to start with. Admittedly I am a professional chef so most recipes I only use as a guide. A few pointers for those having problems with binding. Once my beans are cooked I slightly cool and use my kitchen aid to make a a chunky bean paste. I would also add the rice to this mix (although I substituted quinoa instead). Also if you are unsure if the mix will hold try a mini test pattie. This will also allow you to adjust seasoning as beans take a lot of salt, and flavors come out with heat. Additional suggestions are try adding some grated carrot, fresh parsley, and also can go half and half with black beans and another of your favorites. As well, I like to make a large batch of the mix and make my burger for dinner and shape the rest onto a parchment lined cookie sheet and freeze patties. Once frozen I portion them into packs. Make sure to keep a layer between them or it wont be fun pulling them apart! Jerk Mayo and cheese also top these off nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsey

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I've made this recipe twice and both times I've been disappointed. The mixture does not stay together, even with an egg added, so the second time I formed it into a loaf and baked it. If I were to make it again, I'd increase the proportion of black beans to rice and tone down the nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Spicy Burgers with Melon and Jicama Salad

See how to make spicy grilled burgers with a healthy side salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States