Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Great burger!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brandenburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
All seven family members ate them and asked for more...that is a 5-star recipe in my book. I did omit peppers (I know misses the point of the recipe, but the kids won't eat spicy food), added extra of the seasonings to taste. Working into patties just fine (the little ones loved helping with that, since it was a bit messy). Fried up great, no egg needed. Definitely a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I believe this recipe could make T-Rex less of a carnivore. I made this exactly as stated and cannot think of any alterations to make. I used a 3"x1/2" round cutter to form "burgers" and served it as a sandwich burger with the typical condiments. Using the cutter, I had ten servings and put the leftovers in the freezer for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I'm giving these five stars because I'm confident that they would be delicious and perfect if I hadn't messed them up. :o) I used sticky short-grain rice because it's all I had and I think that made them more dense and gooey than they're meant to be, so they didn't cook through all the way. Med-High was also too high for my stove, so people might consider that if yours seem to be burning before they're cooked through. I didn't have allspice or nutmeg, but I put cinnamon, cloves and a bit of black pepper in their place and they turned out great flavor-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were delicious! Like several of the other chefs I added egg to my mix. My partner and I really enjoy making Veggie Patties and have tried several of our own creations,and this recipe served as a great base to start with. Admittedly I am a professional chef so most recipes I only use as a guide. A few pointers for those having problems with binding. Once my beans are cooked I slightly cool and use my kitchen aid to make a a chunky bean paste. I would also add the rice to this mix (although I substituted quinoa instead). Also if you are unsure if the mix will hold try a mini test pattie. This will also allow you to adjust seasoning as beans take a lot of salt, and flavors come out with heat. Additional suggestions are try adding some grated carrot, fresh parsley, and also can go half and half with black beans and another of your favorites. As well, I like to make a large batch of the mix and make my burger for dinner and shape the rest onto a parchment lined cookie sheet and freeze patties. Once frozen I portion them into packs. Make sure to keep a layer between them or it wont be fun pulling them apart! Jerk Mayo and cheese also top these off nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsey

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I've made this recipe twice and both times I've been disappointed. The mixture does not stay together, even with an egg added, so the second time I formed it into a loaf and baked it. If I were to make it again, I'd increase the proportion of black beans to rice and tone down the nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
These are great! We used Jalapeno instead of Habanero pepper (because that's what we had). Also subbed in brown rice. Had no trouble forming patties or with crumbling. I'm a stubborn omnivore with an aspiring herbivore for a wife. I think I liked these even more than she did! Top'em off with a slice of pepperjack, red onion, and some homemade guacamole! The only thing I will change is to cut the recipe in half. This made a ton of burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This recipe is very good. The allspice gives it a "jerk" flavor known well in Jamaica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Never having eaten, let alone made a veggie burger - I have to say that these were pretty good! I halved the recipe and still made 4 good sized burgers. Made exactly as written. For those reviewers who said that these didn't form into patties and crumbled when cooking, you didn't follow the directions! Mixing thoroughly with your hands is a MUST. I started out mixing with a spoon and the mixture was dry and loose, then I dove in with my hands and really mixed and mashed it up and that made all the difference! Had NO problems forming patties and very minimal crumbling, only around the edges when cooking. There is no need for an egg in this recipe if you follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Edit: I am editing my review and giving it 5 stars because I did not read the instructions properly the first time I made these. You do not need egg - mashing the mixture holds it together great. Such a wonderful recipe, thank you! Great recipe! I would've given it 5 stars, but it was really lacking a main ingredient as others have stated: egg. We used 2 and the burgers held together great, even on our grill. Otherwise it would've fallen completely apart. Topped with lettuce, tomato and slices of avocado, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States