Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made it tonight and it was a super hit. I made a few subtle changes. 1. Replaced habanero with Chili flakes and green Chili as we did not have habanero at home. 2. We love ginger so apart from the grated ginger, I added some julienned ginger as well. 3. Didn't have allspice or nutmeg; used only garam masala. 4. Cooked the spices with onions and garlic. 5. Added half lemon juice. This was a great hit and thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was really good - but to say it took only 2 minutes to prep is way out of line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Greenlawn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
My husband is a die hard carnivore and he absolutely loved these! Since my daughter has Celiac's disease, I toasted 6 slices of Udi Gluten-free bread and tore them into small pieces for the bread crumbs and then ate them bunless. I smooshed the mixture together by hand until it was the texture of raw hamburger and they held together well. We all thought these were the best veggie burgers we'd ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn58

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I messed these up. I tried to use oatmeal as a binder because I was out of breadcrumbs. I used brown basmati rice (maybe not sticky enough). I added 2 eggs because they were dry. They weren't very beany and ended up being more of a black bean fried rice which tasted OK but didn't fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Mix with your hands an an egg isn't needed. Very tasty but habaneros aren't readily available here so I used a jalapeno instead. It was still quit good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
awesome! This is the first recipe off of All recipes that my husband truly liked and got excited about eating again. We love all the different flavors in this burger. Definitely recommend. We used 1 teaspoon of the garlic in a jar and that was good for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My first attempt at making a veggie burger and they turned out GREAT! I used brown rice instead of white and put them on the grill. The consistancy was so similar to a beef burger and with the brown rice, it even looked like a beef burger. Next time I might leave out the ginger and add more garlic. Definitely need to use your hands to get them to stick together and I had absolutely no trouble with them falling apart on the grill. This recipe made 8 very large burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was my first vegetarian burger and I wasn't disappointed! Followed directions exactly and they were not too dry. If mixed with hands an egg is not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were tasteless. I don't know, I didn't know quite what to expect and I gave these every advantage, making home made buns, the works. I used Basmati rice which has a flavor we adore. For the record, use an egg, squishing it all together is something you'll still have to do to form a patty, perhaps a 2nd egg might help but to what end? I might try something like this again but it would have to be radically different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I thought these were really yummy, but my hubby was less impressed (he's more of a meat burger kind of guy). I omitted the pepper, as we weren't in the mood for spicy; next time I might increase the amount of fresh ginger as I could barely taste it. I had no problem with the burgers binding together, and we did them on the BBQ... I just made sure to mix/knead them really well with my hands before forming the patties. No egg required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States