Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Beautiful! These burgers were absolutely delicious and even the leftovers were tasty the next day! I served mine in basically the same way as Hannah, however I used a lovely whole wheat bun and some Swiss Lorraine cheese. I also used my own recipe of pineapple and onion relish, puree half a white onion and a can of pineapple chunks in a blender. then I top it all off with a little mayo and shriracha mixed together for a spicy kick! Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
taste - 4 stars crumbliness - 2 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I think the recipe was rather easy and mixing well by hand definately was the key to them not being crumbly. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This recipe was fairly bland and came out more like turkey stuffing than a burger. The dry spices got mostly drowned out by all the carbs. Also, I had expected these burgers to look dark like a hamburger based on the photos and the fact that it has black beans in it, but they came out very light... which makes sense in hindsight given that there are a lot of onions, bread crumbs and white rice in the recipe. It did hold together pretty well, so no major complaints there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
these were tasty. to weigh in on the egg/ no egg debate, i made a patty without an egg and it stayed together ok, but, since i'm not a vegan, i thought i would add two eggs to make it stick together better. the patty with the eggs stayed together 1000 times better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great taste and loved the habanero kick. I did feel that it needed a hearty vegetable or something cut the starchy feel, but overall it was still a tasty burger. I will keep the recipe and add my twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
these are terrific even for your non-veg friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I was hoping that this would be good. I was excited to make this. Didn't taste good. After thinking about it, I agree with another post about the load of carbohydrates. How good can rice, breadcrumbs and a little bit of other stuff on a bread bun be? I am glad others enjoyed. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldayinca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
These burgers were FANTASTIC in flavor and texture! I made as stated with a few alterations. I used coconut oil, brown rice and jalapeno. I didn't have trouble making patties, I just really mashed everything together with my hands. I made six HUGE burger patties. My husband like his, but wasn't crazy over over it like I was. We ate like a hamburger steak with a slice of cheese on top, sauteed spinach and tomatoes as sides. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frieda Balavage

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Well, understand I'm not a vegetarian, but I do enjoy vegetarian meals. This is not one I enjoyed. Flavour was good. Texture was just too pasty for my liking. edited: I liked this recipe better the second day, patty's firmed up, so added another star to my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Spicy Burgers with Melon and Jicama Salad

See how to make spicy grilled burgers with a healthy side salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States