Jamaican Beans and Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2001
The recipe sounds great but there must be an error. The only liquid in the recipe is one cup of coconut milk and this isn't enough to cook the beans and the rice. I hope they make the necessary corrections because the recipe sounds like it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2001
I really liked this recipe. I added a few more spices, though and used both canned prepared beans and frozen previously cooked beans instead of waiting for the beans to cook. I put them in a slow cooker with the coconut milk for about an hour, then transferred everything to my rice cooker. That increased the easyness factor alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
1 cup of coconut milk is not enough liquid to cook 1 1/4 cups beans AND 2 1/4 cups rice! I sure hope somebody submits a better recipe because this one doesn't work as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
I hope nobody tries this recipe with only 1 cup of coconut milk as the total liquid. You're probably supposed to cook the beans and rice separately, then add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
I slaved for three hours only to find a dissapointing bland dish. the directions are incomplete and confussing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
Ok, so I had to revise the receipe somewhat. I really used 40 oz. coconut milk, (3 13.5 cans minus a little). I started with the original 1 cup and kept addeding to keep beans drowned until I added rice (which I then considered the rice rule 1 cup rice=2 cups water) I used 1/2 the beans that the receipe asked for, I used only 1 cup brown rice and isteand of sticking to the 25 minutes I just kept checking and making sure rice didn't burn on the bottom and kept fire burning into the majority of the liquid was gone. Taste Great!!! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
After spending all day locating a can of coconut milk, I followed the recipe to the T. About halfway through the 2 hours, I started scrambling for more liquid. I added a can of evaporated milk, since I had no more coconut milk, then I ran out of that and just added milk. Bottom line is that the pan was horribly scorched and I threw the whole thing out. I was very disappointed. I'll never try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
I found out the missing instruction behind this recipe and still cheated. Soak beans overnight. It's on the package instructions for the kidney beans. Also, I did add more water as it cooked. I could not let it burn. The flavor is OK with the fresh thyme, but I think I'll stick to my own way by cooking the beans and rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Very bland, even after adding cinnamon and nutmeg to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I tried this and added 2 cans of coconut milk and additional water. It was a real disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKNNRSE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States