Jamaican Beans and Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I will not be making this one again. I used 3 cans of coconut milk (almost 6 cups), 2 cups of rice and 2 cans of beans. The only way we could stomach it was to mix it with our creamed spinach. I had to drown it with hot sauce. I am sure there is a better recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Millville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
A little bland, but my husband loves it. I added red pepper and a chopped jalepeno to spice it up a little. It really added to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natali

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Here's a fail proof version: 2c uncooked rice,1 can kidney beans, 2 garlic cloves minced, 3 sliced green onions,1 tsp thyme,1 can coconut milk, 2 cups water, and a whole scotch bonnet. Bring it all to a boil for about 20 min., remove the whole pepper. Season with additional salt and pepper to taste. You could add some curry powder if you like it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNIE44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
this is the way how do it too. its tatse mad like wow. nuff love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I have to say that I followed debP's review. I, too, cooked the rice beforehand, but while cooking it, I also sauteed pork, green onions and 3 cloves of garlic. When the pork dish and rice were done, I transferred the pork/green onion mixture into a big pot and added the whole can of coconut milk. Then I added generous dashes of dried thyme, salt and pepper as well as crushed red pepper flakes. Added the brown rice as well as 1/2 cup of black eyed peas that I pre cooked a couple hours before. There was no "drying out" of the rice, was liberal w/the water that I cooked the brown rice, after reading all the scarey previous reviews! In the end, I prepared the dish nothing like the actual recipe, but it turned out fantastic. There were hardly any leftovers! This is a good "idea" of a recipe, but there is some major tweaking that has to be done in order for it to turn out with a consistency that is edible! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars and only b/c the adjustments I made produced a really yummy dish. I didn't even attempt to use the original recipe after reading the comments. I turned this into a one-pot meal and it was quick, easy, and fabulous! Here's my recipe: 2 cups water 1 cup uncooked brown rice 1 cup coconut milk (or go ahead and use a whole can which = 2 cups) 1 can red beans (or kidney beans) 3 cloves garlic, chopped 1/4 C. green onion 2 Tbsp. sugar 1 tsp. dried thyme 1 tsp. curry powder Put all ingredients in a pot, bring to a boil, and cook until rice is tender (and liquid has reduced)--about 20-30 mins. Voila! I omitted the chile pepper b/c I wasn't sure if it would be too spicy for my kids, but I may try a small amount next time (or add a small can of green chiles). Tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
The liquid proportions for this recipe are wrong. I used 3 cans of coconut milk. I dumped everything into my rice cooker and set it to the brown rice setting. Once cooked, it was really lacking in flavor so I added all the seasonings in again. This dish has subtle flavor and was a good counterpart to the Jerky Chicken recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Yes, if you've ever ate authentic jamaican beans and rice, then you know that it is a pretty dry dish. sooooo good though and also good with tofu in curry sauce right on top with a salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I you like West Indian food this is close to any Ive ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovie T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I first tasted a variation of this recipe in Costa Rica on the east coast. Very similar. This recipe and the other I tasted in Costa Rica is one of the most satisfying foods I have ever eaten. Whats better, eaten once or twice a week I never get tired of it. Try it, you will love it. If you have a pressure cooker you can have the beans done in only 40 minutes to a nice soft consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States