Jamaican Beans and Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I kept the coconut with the coconut milk, and cooked both in with the beans and additional water. I cut the rice down to 1 cup, cooking it in 2 cups of water. I served the beans on top of the rice. This has great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I you like West Indian food this is close to any Ive ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovie T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I tried this and added 2 cans of coconut milk and additional water. It was a real disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKNNRSE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I first tasted a variation of this recipe in Costa Rica on the east coast. Very similar. This recipe and the other I tasted in Costa Rica is one of the most satisfying foods I have ever eaten. Whats better, eaten once or twice a week I never get tired of it. Try it, you will love it. If you have a pressure cooker you can have the beans done in only 40 minutes to a nice soft consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Yes, if you've ever ate authentic jamaican beans and rice, then you know that it is a pretty dry dish. sooooo good though and also good with tofu in curry sauce right on top with a salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars and only b/c the adjustments I made produced a really yummy dish. I didn't even attempt to use the original recipe after reading the comments. I turned this into a one-pot meal and it was quick, easy, and fabulous! Here's my recipe: 2 cups water 1 cup uncooked brown rice 1 cup coconut milk (or go ahead and use a whole can which = 2 cups) 1 can red beans (or kidney beans) 3 cloves garlic, chopped 1/4 C. green onion 2 Tbsp. sugar 1 tsp. dried thyme 1 tsp. curry powder Put all ingredients in a pot, bring to a boil, and cook until rice is tender (and liquid has reduced)--about 20-30 mins. Voila! I omitted the chile pepper b/c I wasn't sure if it would be too spicy for my kids, but I may try a small amount next time (or add a small can of green chiles). Tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
this is the way how do it too. its tatse mad like wow. nuff love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This recipe was delicious, although i did have to use more milk. I did precook the rice, and was glad that I did! One cup of milk would not be sufficient for 2 1/4c uncooked rice to absorb. The flavor was outstanding!!!! Love the creamy taste of the coconut milk paired with the spicyness of the chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Our family really enjoyed this dish. I did add twice the amount of coconut milk to the beans, and ened up adding about 2 cups of chicken broth (since I had no more coconut milk on hand). I added the garlic to the pot after the first hours to enhance the flavor. I ended up making the rice seperately as well, and used tobasco sauce and chili powder because we didn't have chile peppers. Next time I would probably pre-soak the beans, and use only cocont milk (3, 14-oz cans per cup of beans) , but they turned out well just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I used a variety of beans in the slow cooker with coconut milk. I cooked the rice seperately too. Basically took the idea and changed it. Turned out good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esther7mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States