Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
fabulous; a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Deliciously moist, easy and fast since it's mixed right in the pan and there's no need for frosting or topping of any kind. I followed the recommendations of other reviewers; reduced oil to 1 cup, used half brown and half white sugar and added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon (though I'm not sure the cinnamon was necessary). Then gently mixed it right in the pan as directed and baked. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I made a few changes, I used applesauce in place of oil and used half brown sugar and half white sugar as previously suggested. I am not sure if the changes changed the texture...the texture was somewhat fudgy(?) definitely not cake-like. I also greased my pan and dusted it with cinammon and sugar. Yummy! Yummy! My husband did not want me to share any with my coworkers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Made this for hubby today for Father's Day; this is wonderful! Based on previous reviews I reduced the oil down to 1 cup and this did well. I only had a can of pineapple chunks so I threw it in the food processor and fixed that problem. I only had pecan halves, but got out a plastic baggie, plus my meat mallet, and solved that problem too. Can you tell I was bent on making this cake today? I didn't add cinnamon, as other reviewers mentioned, but think it would have been a welcome addition. This cake almost burnt on me. Be sure to tent this at about 40 minutes. My cake was done in about 52 minutes. Very moist and delicious! Just sprinkled powdered sugar over the top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Had some over ripe bananas to use up and decided to try this recipe. This was a big hit in our house. I used most of the suggestions offered - used 1c each of brown sugar and white sugar, only 1 cup oil, and coconut on top before baking. After baking, I sprinkled with confectioners sugar only and it came out delicious, probably one of the best cake recipes I've ever made. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Delicious! I loved the texture and it was so easy and quick to make. I read the reviews and used only a cup of oil, mainly cause that was all I had...and I did everything else the same. I even fell asleep while making it and I didn't hear the timer! I overcooked it but it was still moist! I tented the cake with foil in the last 20 minutes of cooking...glad I did that! I made it on a Friday night and served it Sat night...it was great and still wonderful Sunday morning. I also used Cool Whip as icing and topped it sweetened coconut...that was perfect and light enough to go with the texture. Also...even though I made it in the pan...I was able to flip it onto a serving tray easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I was sooo skeptical of a one-pan cake, but here it is, and its awesome. So yummy. I actually used frozen bananas I was saving to make banana bread and it seemed to work just fine. I served it with warmed maple syrup and some whip cream. Thanks for a really great recipe that is already making its way around the family....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY4MACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This is very similar to a hummingbird layer cake my aunt makes. Since this is made in the sheet cake pan, it's much easier. I frosted the top with cream cheese icing. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This recipe was SOOOOO good!!! I followed the original recipe except I didn't have banana's, so I used a can of mixed fruit (drained) instead, and also used finely chopped pecans, and imitation vanilla/butternut flavor instead of vanilla. I made a whole pan of it last night, my boyfriend and I ate almost half, so I brought some into work today and the ladies can't keep their hands off it!!! A definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
pretty good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States