Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Fantastic! My husband made this for me for my birthday, brought me back to our Jamaican vacation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stewartville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
OMG!!!! Everybody at my game night loved this! I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and only 1 c oil like the other suggestions. I poured the batter in the pan and layered the cut bananas in, then layered more batter on top. I also tented the cake after 30 min with foil. I did not make icing. Next time I will top it with whipped cream. This would be great with a cup of coffee! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Super easy and perfectly yummy. My changes were half brown sugar/half white, reduced oil to one cup, I used three bananas (just because :0), added 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and I topped it with cocounut prior to baking. Tent the cake after 30-40 minutes to prevent it getting too dark. This was perfect! No frosting or powdered sugar needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Crews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I didn't have any canned pineapple, so I substituted a can of diced pears. I don't know what the cake would have tasted like with pineapple, but it was very moist and delicious using pears! I also added a teaspoon of almond extract in addition to the vanilla. One important note: Make sure you bake this in the 9x13 pan, but I did mix the batter in a bowl first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Great cake and forgiving. I mixed in a bowl b/c I wanted my eggs thoroughly beaten and I added the other ingredients in no particular order and it turned out great! On my second batch, I cut the oil down to 2/3 cup and it was perfect. The cake is just ok out of the oven but becomes fantastic the next day. I also tried making as loaves and they are definetly gift worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
YUMMY! :-) My family just LOVE this cake! It's GREAT for breakfast with a hot cup of tea or coffee, if you fancy that! ;-) This is a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This cake is awesome! I did followed the suggestions of half brown/half white sugar and 1 cup oil. I think i will try apple sauce and add coconut flakes as others have suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Yummy! I, too, used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. Also 1/2 cup oil and 1 cup applesauce. It does need something on top so I think I'll use cream cheese icing as suggested earlier! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Really good and a nice variation on banana bread. My changes: 1/2 C white sugar, 1/2 C brown sugar; 1/2 C oil + 1 C applesauce (to avoid the "fudgy" problem another reviewer had with 100% applesauce substitution). It was easy and plenty sweet. However, it stuck to the pan like glue; next time I'll grease the pan like another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
It was good and very simple to make. I would advise to use half the amount of sugar- It was tooooo sweet!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States