Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Other than adjusting for my altitude, I changed a couple of things. half applesauce/half oil... 3/4 cup white sugar 3/4 cup brown... doubled the bananas...and instead of 1 1/2 cups nuts, I used 1/2 cup nuts and a cup of coconut... I did mix it in bowls (dry in one, wet in another, as a regular cake) The recipe made a bundt cake and a loaf (loaf came out in 45 minutes, bundt pan a total of 1 hour 15 minutes)... And are so perfect that I can not imagine putting any kind of topping on it. It is moist and the flavors blend perfectly, with still being distinguishable. Recipe saved, and am now waiting for another batch of bananas to ripen :D Thank you for this post, I will be making it a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Delicious, easy cake. I used 1 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar to cut down the sweetness. My cake was done in 50 min, so keep an eye on yours. It gets very dark on top, but the crisp on the outside compliments the moist inside. Topped with powdered sugar, a hit with the entire family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very good cake but I'm not a big lover of banana in cakes but tried it anway. A little too sweet for my taste. Wish more of the pineapple flavor would come through. Don't know if I would make it again. My husband seems to like it. It kind of reminds me of a coffeecake recipe from years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is an awesome cake with a great moist texture. A little too greasy for my taste so next time I will use apple sauce instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Wow, this cake is really good. I substututed a 1/2 cup of brown sugar of 1/2 cup of the white sugar, used walnuts instead of pecans because that was what I had on hand. Very moist, fairly chunky, no need for frosting. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This cake was vey good and moist. Next time I may add a cream chz frosting to it, with some shredded, sweetened coconut. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Awwww yeah. This is one awesome cake, my friends. I subbed 1 c. sugar plus 3/4. c brown sugar for the 2 c. white, cut the oil in half and used 3 bananas because bananas are made of win. I also shortened the baking time to 45 min @ 300, but that's only because my oven is electric and therefore sucks. But in the end, this is dynamite! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I used this recipe as a guide and switched it up. I used chunked pinapple instead of crushed, and used applesauce instead of oil. I soaked raisins in hot water and when they were nice and soft threw them in too.Sprinkled it with cinnamon before i put it in the oven. The whole family loved it! gotta try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
this was a nice cake ...my husband loves it! only thing i did differently was use 100g ground almonds as i didn't have any pecans.i really loved not having any extra mixing bowls to wash up after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Fantastic! My husband made this for me for my birthday, brought me back to our Jamaican vacation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stewartville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States