Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
My whole family loves this cake, they even request it for birthdays etc.! I top the cake with coconut before baking and add a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter for extra flavor. This is my favorite cake to make and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
My family loves this cake! My husband asks for it often. It's very easy to make and it stays moist. Yes, it tastes even better the next day! I add powdered sugar icing (powdered sugar, vanilla extract, and lemon juice) after the cake cools. I will make loaves for Christmas gifts this year. Thanks for this delicious recipe! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is a wonderfully moist cake with great flavor. It is great with or without a simple glaze. We all love it and it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I'll be making this again SOON! I did change it a little because I didn't have a full can of pinapple... so I mashed some canned peaches into what I did have. I didn't add pecans because they weren't in the pantry... so I went nutless. Next time though, I would only put 1 cup of oil, it was a little greasy on the hands... but a GREAT recipe! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Wonderful Cake!! I decreased the oil using 1 cup, and added 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. I also mixed the cake in a bowl, not wanting to mix in the bundt pan I was going to bake in. I will make this again, and cook in muffin tins to freeze! Can't go wrong with this one! Adding it to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Excellent!! Just as tasty with walnuts. Sooo moist...for days! Can't wait to make again and indulge in this tasty delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
So convenient to make-- I already had all of the ingredients and only had to mess up one bowl. I was thinking that it must be too good to be true and wasn't going to taste well, but boy was I wrong. The cake tasted wonderful, very close to a cake that they serve in my favorite restaurant. I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Great! I, too, added 1 tsp. cinnamon (I had this recipe from years ago, and it called for 1 tsp. cinnamon). I made mine in a Bundt pan, but if you decide to do that, don't use cooking spray (instead, do the standard 'grease and flour'); otherwise, the outside turns dark, and it's not as appealing. This cake is much better the next day! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This is probably the tastiest, moistest cake I have ever made. It was wonderful, and it gets better as it gets older. I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe. I'm a Weight Watchers Lifetime Member, and this cake has 12 points per serving, but if this is what binging is all about, I'm for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This recipe is very good. We put plenty of pecans in it. But make sure the middle is done as this is a thick recipe. Also the top may have a tendency to brown fast before the cake is done so be sure to tent some foil on top to prevent excessive browning. Then enjoy. Warm with coffee or milk it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States