Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
My whole family loves this cake, they even request it for birthdays etc.! I top the cake with coconut before baking and add a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter for extra flavor. This is my favorite cake to make and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I made a few changes, I used applesauce in place of oil and used half brown sugar and half white sugar as previously suggested. I am not sure if the changes changed the texture...the texture was somewhat fudgy(?) definitely not cake-like. I also greased my pan and dusted it with cinammon and sugar. Yummy! Yummy! My husband did not want me to share any with my coworkers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I have made this a few times now, and it is always a hit. I followed some of the previous suggestions and put half brown sugar and half white sugar. I also added cinnamon and cut back the oil. This cake is always better the next day! Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVSANTERIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Awwww yeah. This is one awesome cake, my friends. I subbed 1 c. sugar plus 3/4. c brown sugar for the 2 c. white, cut the oil in half and used 3 bananas because bananas are made of win. I also shortened the baking time to 45 min @ 300, but that's only because my oven is electric and therefore sucks. But in the end, this is dynamite! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This is very similar to a hummingbird layer cake my aunt makes. Since this is made in the sheet cake pan, it's much easier. I frosted the top with cream cheese icing. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This cake is awesome! I did followed the suggestions of half brown/half white sugar and 1 cup oil. I think i will try apple sauce and add coconut flakes as others have suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
OMG!!!! Everybody at my game night loved this! I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and only 1 c oil like the other suggestions. I poured the batter in the pan and layered the cut bananas in, then layered more batter on top. I also tented the cake after 30 min with foil. I did not make icing. Next time I will top it with whipped cream. This would be great with a cup of coffee! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
My family loves this cake! My husband asks for it often. It's very easy to make and it stays moist. Yes, it tastes even better the next day! I add powdered sugar icing (powdered sugar, vanilla extract, and lemon juice) after the cake cools. I will make loaves for Christmas gifts this year. Thanks for this delicious recipe! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This recipe was SOOOOO good!!! I followed the original recipe except I didn't have banana's, so I used a can of mixed fruit (drained) instead, and also used finely chopped pecans, and imitation vanilla/butternut flavor instead of vanilla. I made a whole pan of it last night, my boyfriend and I ate almost half, so I brought some into work today and the ladies can't keep their hands off it!!! A definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Excellent!! Just as tasty with walnuts. Sooo moist...for days! Can't wait to make again and indulge in this tasty delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States