Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Fantastic! My husband made this for me for my birthday, brought me back to our Jamaican vacation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stewartville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
OMG!!!! Everybody at my game night loved this! I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and only 1 c oil like the other suggestions. I poured the batter in the pan and layered the cut bananas in, then layered more batter on top. I also tented the cake after 30 min with foil. I did not make icing. Next time I will top it with whipped cream. This would be great with a cup of coffee! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Super easy and perfectly yummy. My changes were half brown sugar/half white, reduced oil to one cup, I used three bananas (just because :0), added 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and I topped it with cocounut prior to baking. Tent the cake after 30-40 minutes to prevent it getting too dark. This was perfect! No frosting or powdered sugar needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Crews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I didn't have any canned pineapple, so I substituted a can of diced pears. I don't know what the cake would have tasted like with pineapple, but it was very moist and delicious using pears! I also added a teaspoon of almond extract in addition to the vanilla. One important note: Make sure you bake this in the 9x13 pan, but I did mix the batter in a bowl first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Great cake and forgiving. I mixed in a bowl b/c I wanted my eggs thoroughly beaten and I added the other ingredients in no particular order and it turned out great! On my second batch, I cut the oil down to 2/3 cup and it was perfect. The cake is just ok out of the oven but becomes fantastic the next day. I also tried making as loaves and they are definetly gift worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
YUMMY! :-) My family just LOVE this cake! It's GREAT for breakfast with a hot cup of tea or coffee, if you fancy that! ;-) This is a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This cake is awesome! I did followed the suggestions of half brown/half white sugar and 1 cup oil. I think i will try apple sauce and add coconut flakes as others have suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Yummy! I, too, used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. Also 1/2 cup oil and 1 cup applesauce. It does need something on top so I think I'll use cream cheese icing as suggested earlier! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Really good and a nice variation on banana bread. My changes: 1/2 C white sugar, 1/2 C brown sugar; 1/2 C oil + 1 C applesauce (to avoid the "fudgy" problem another reviewer had with 100% applesauce substitution). It was easy and plenty sweet. However, it stuck to the pan like glue; next time I'll grease the pan like another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
It was good and very simple to make. I would advise to use half the amount of sugar- It was tooooo sweet!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States