Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Great cake and forgiving. I mixed in a bowl b/c I wanted my eggs thoroughly beaten and I added the other ingredients in no particular order and it turned out great! On my second batch, I cut the oil down to 2/3 cup and it was perfect. The cake is just ok out of the oven but becomes fantastic the next day. I also tried making as loaves and they are definetly gift worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
YUMMY! :-) My family just LOVE this cake! It's GREAT for breakfast with a hot cup of tea or coffee, if you fancy that! ;-) This is a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This cake is awesome! I did followed the suggestions of half brown/half white sugar and 1 cup oil. I think i will try apple sauce and add coconut flakes as others have suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Yummy! I, too, used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. Also 1/2 cup oil and 1 cup applesauce. It does need something on top so I think I'll use cream cheese icing as suggested earlier! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Really good and a nice variation on banana bread. My changes: 1/2 C white sugar, 1/2 C brown sugar; 1/2 C oil + 1 C applesauce (to avoid the "fudgy" problem another reviewer had with 100% applesauce substitution). It was easy and plenty sweet. However, it stuck to the pan like glue; next time I'll grease the pan like another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
It was good and very simple to make. I would advise to use half the amount of sugar- It was tooooo sweet!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I've made this cake twice now and everyone loves it! I added a cream cheese frosting and topped it with coconut flakes. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Very good and easy to make. Tastes like a banana nut bread, only better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Now don't get me wrong by the four stars I rated it. It was a good cake, but, I felt it needed something else, and I don't think frosting will do it, may be I should have added , like some of the other people did, add some cinnamon, but maybe that would have taken the "jamaican" thing out of it. All in all, I probably would make it again. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Absolutely delicious!!! Made this for a Jamaican themed baby shower and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States