Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is an awesome cake with a great moist texture. A little too greasy for my taste so next time I will use apple sauce instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Wow, this cake is really good. I substututed a 1/2 cup of brown sugar of 1/2 cup of the white sugar, used walnuts instead of pecans because that was what I had on hand. Very moist, fairly chunky, no need for frosting. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This cake was vey good and moist. Next time I may add a cream chz frosting to it, with some shredded, sweetened coconut. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Awwww yeah. This is one awesome cake, my friends. I subbed 1 c. sugar plus 3/4. c brown sugar for the 2 c. white, cut the oil in half and used 3 bananas because bananas are made of win. I also shortened the baking time to 45 min @ 300, but that's only because my oven is electric and therefore sucks. But in the end, this is dynamite! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I used this recipe as a guide and switched it up. I used chunked pinapple instead of crushed, and used applesauce instead of oil. I soaked raisins in hot water and when they were nice and soft threw them in too.Sprinkled it with cinnamon before i put it in the oven. The whole family loved it! gotta try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
this was a nice cake ...my husband loves it! only thing i did differently was use 100g ground almonds as i didn't have any pecans.i really loved not having any extra mixing bowls to wash up after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Fantastic! My husband made this for me for my birthday, brought me back to our Jamaican vacation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stewartville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
OMG!!!! Everybody at my game night loved this! I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and only 1 c oil like the other suggestions. I poured the batter in the pan and layered the cut bananas in, then layered more batter on top. I also tented the cake after 30 min with foil. I did not make icing. Next time I will top it with whipped cream. This would be great with a cup of coffee! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Super easy and perfectly yummy. My changes were half brown sugar/half white, reduced oil to one cup, I used three bananas (just because :0), added 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and I topped it with cocounut prior to baking. Tent the cake after 30-40 minutes to prevent it getting too dark. This was perfect! No frosting or powdered sugar needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIC65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I didn't have any canned pineapple, so I substituted a can of diced pears. I don't know what the cake would have tasted like with pineapple, but it was very moist and delicious using pears! I also added a teaspoon of almond extract in addition to the vanilla. One important note: Make sure you bake this in the 9x13 pan, but I did mix the batter in a bowl first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States