Jam Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
These cookies are buttery and delicious! I tripled the recipe, and everything turned out fine. When doubling or tripling the recipe, you should be able to save some of the egg whites for another use. I increased the sugar to 1/2 cup. I also omitted the salt, and the cookies tasted fine. To make dough easier to handle, try chilling it for about an hour or more before shaping it into balls. Very impressive-looking cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Well, I made a few changes on this recipe due to ingredient limitations. I used butter flavored shortening instead of butter. I doubled the recipe. Used half as many whole eggs instead of separated, since I didn't do the nut thing. I added a pinch of cream of tartar, and a pinch of baking soda because I couldn't find the baking powder, andI wanted teh cookies to puff up. I added about 1/2 cup more sugar because I was afraid they wouldn't be very sweet, and rolled the balls a bit bigger. I filled half of them with apricot preserves, and the other half with raspberry. I never even looked at the baking time and temps, but I baked them at 325 convection for 12 minutes. Everyone loved them, and I plan to make them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
These were great additions to my other Christmas cookies. I left some without the nuts and I used mint jelly instead for a festive look! Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
They were good, but I had a hard time making the whole in the middle just right for the preserves. My cookies seemed to want to spread too much. I used powdered sugar instead of nuts and the office staff loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
This was a very easy recipe and very tastey! Everyone loved them and I make them all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This recipe is the perfect size for two people. I added a dash of cinnamon and it was wonderful. I used a pastry bag with the jelly for faster/easier filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerset

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Very good! Easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
YUMMY! These are rich little cookies - almost like a shortbread - that are just right with a cup of tea. The recipe is easy, and the cookies look lovely. The only change I made was to use almond extract instead of vanilla, which gave them a nice light flavour. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Great little cookie! Not too sweet. I will bake these again. I'll try different toppings... chocolate kisses, meringue, fruits & cream....maybe roll them in coconut and top with mango or papaya...the possibilities are endless! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Delicious, beautiful cookies !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States